Search Menu

Legislative Alerts

PA Bill to Allow Local BSL

Pennsylvania House Bill 2553 will remove the state's prohibition on breed specific local ordinances, thereby allowing municipalities to adopt any type of law applicable to dangerous dogs, including breed-specific ordinances.  It is imperative that concerned dog owners in Pennsylvania contact their legislators and express their strong opposition to this bill. 

The American Kennel Club supports reasonable, enforceable, non-discriminatory laws to govern the ownership of dogs.  The AKC believes that dog owners should be responsible for their dogs.  We support laws that: establish a fair process by which specific dogs are identified as “dangerous” based on stated, measurable actions; impose appropriate penalties on irresponsible owners; and establish a well-defined method for dealing with dogs proven to be dangerous.  The American Kennel Club strongly opposes any legislation that determines a dog to be “dangerous” based on specific breeds or phenotypic classes of dogs. 

By allowing municipalities to impose breed-specific dangerous dog ordinances, HB 2553, if passed, will permit communities to unfairly target well-behaved dogs of specific breeds, thereby raising the possibility of harsh care and condition requirements or the possibility of penalties for owning certain breeds while not focusing on whether or not an individual dog has previously exhibited dangerous behavior.   Additionally, the breed-specific ordinances allowed under this bill will create an unenforceable patchwork of dangerous dog rules across the Commonwealth. 


Concerned Pennsylvania dog owners should contact the members of the House Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee.  Respectfully let them know that HB 2553 is an unacceptable means to address dog control issues. 


Hon. Michael K. Hanna, Majority Chairman
302 Main Capitol Building
PO Box 202076
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2076
(717) 772-2283
Fax: (717) 787-4137
To e-mail Rep. Hanna, click here.

Hon. Gary Haluska, Majority Vice Chairman
114 Irvis Office Building
PO Box 202073
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2073
(717) 787-3532
Fax: (717) 783-7548
To e-mail Rep. Haluska, click here.

Hon. David R. Kessler, Majority Secretary
115A East Wing
PO Box 202130
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2130
(717) 787-2769
Fax: (717) 780-4768
To e-mail Rep. Kessler, click here.

Hon. Mike Carroll
28A East Wing
PO Box 202118
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2118
(717) 787-3589
Fax: (717) 780-4763
To e-mail Rep. Carroll, click here

Hon. Mark B. Cohen
128 Main Capitol Building
PO Box 202202
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2202
(717) 787-4117
Fax: (717) 787-6650
To e-mail Rep. Cohen, click here

Hon. H. Scott Conklin
101B East Wing
PO Box 202077
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2077
(717) 787-9473
Fax: (717) 780-4764
To e-mail Rep. Conklin, click here.

Hon. Peter J. Daley
214 Irvis Office Building
PO Box 202049
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2049
(717) 783-9333
Fax: (717) 783-7558
To e-mail Rep. Daley, click here.

Hon. Richard T. Grucela
G-01 Irvis Office Building
PO Box 202137
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2137
(717) 705-1878
Fax: (717) 783-3180
To e-mail Rep. Grucela, click here

Hon. Harold James
317 Irvis Office Building
PO Box 202186
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2186
(717) 787-9477
Fax: (717) 787-7517
To e-mail Rep. James, click here.

Hon. Babette Josephs
300 Main Capitol Building
PO Box 202182
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2182
(717) 787-8529
Fax: (717) 787-5066
To e-mail Rep. Josephs, click here.

Hon. Tim Mahoney
104B East Wing
PO Box 202051
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2051
(717) 772-2174
Fax: (717) 780-4786
To e-mail Rep. Mahoney, click here.

Hon. John Myers
305 Irvis Office Building
PO Box 202201
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2201
(717) 787-3181
Fax: (717) 772-4038
To e-mail Rep. Myers, click here.

Hon. Frank Louis Oliver
34E East Wing
PO Box 202195
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2195
(717) 787-3480
Fax: (717) 783-0684
To e-mail Rep. Oliver, click here.

Hon. Timothy J. Solobay
G-14 Irvis Office Building
PO Box 202048
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2048
(717) 787-1188
Fax: (717) 705-1887
To e-mail Rep. Solobay, click here.

Hon. Tom Yewcic
300 Irvis Office Building
PO Box 202072
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2072
(717) 783-0248
Fax: (717) 787-4922
To e-mail Rep. Yewcic, click here.

Hon. Rosita C. Youngblood
121A East Wing
PO Box 202198
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2198
(717) 787-7727
Fax: (717) 772-1313
To e-mail Rep. Youngblood, click here.


Hon. Art Hershey, Minority Chairman
202 Ryan Office Building
PO Box 202013
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2013
(717) 783-6435
Fax: (717) 705-1868
To e-mail Rep. Hershey, click here.

Hon. Bob Bastian, Minority Vice Chairman
402A Irvis Office Building
PO Box 202069
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2069
(717) 783-8756
Fax: (717) 783-3899
To e-mail Rep. Bastian, click here

Hon. Mike Fleck, Minority Secretary
159A East Wing
PO Box 202081
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2081
(717) 787-3335
Fax: (717) 260-6504

Hon. Karen Boback
141B East Wing
PO Box 202117
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2117
(717) 787-1117
Fax: (717) 705-1889

Hon. Michele Brooks
153B East Wing
PO Box 202017
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2017
(717) 783-5008
Fax: (717) 705-1948

Hon. Jim Cox
412 Irvis Office Building
PO Box 202129
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2129
(717) 772-2435
Fax: (717) 260-6516

Hon. Gordon Denlinger
163A East Wing
PO Box 202099
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2099
(717) 787-3531
Fax: (717) 705-1951

Hon. David S. Hickernell
143B East Wing
PO Box 202098
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2098
(717) 783-2076
Fax: (717) 705-1946
To e-mail Rep. Hickernell, click here.

Hon. Rob W. Kauffman
163A East Wing
PO Box 202089
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2089
(717) 705-2004
Fax: (717) 705-1951

Hon. Mark K. Keller
5 East Wing
PO Box 202086
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2086
(717) 783-1593
Fax: (717) 705-7012

Hon. David R. Millard
402B Irvis Office Building
PO Box 202109
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2109
(717) 783-1102
Fax: (717) 772-0094

Hon. Dan Moul
G-32 Irvis Office Building
PO Box 202091
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2091
(717) 783-5217

Hon. Tina Pickett
155A East Wing
PO Box 202110
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2110
(717) 783-8238
Fax: (717) 705-1949


For more information, contact AKC's Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720, or e-mail

Pennsylvania House Bill 2553 will remove the state’s prohibition on breed specific local…