AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

NC UPDATE: Pet Dealer Language Not in Budget - Please Thank NC Legislative Leadership!

(Thursday, July 31, 2014)

Please forward this to club members, fanciers, breeders and sportsmen in North Carolina:

The final House and Senate compromise budget was released late last night. AKC is pleased to report it DOES NOT include language opposed by the AKC that would have: transferred jurisdiction of the North Carolina Animal Welfare Act away from the Department of Agriculture, established commercial dog dealer licensing and regulations based on the number of dogs a person owns (rather than commercial activity), and would have taken funds from North Carolina’s Spay/Neuter Account to support fundraising for private kennel inspectors. Each of these proposals could have been harmful to the wellbeing of dogs in North Carolina and to responsible North Carolina dog owners.

The Senate will begin voting on the budget today, and the House is expected to vote by the end of the week.

Please take a moment to contact key legislative leaders and members of the budget conference committee. Thank them for listening to the concerns of responsible dog owners and breeders and not allowing these dangerous amendments to be included in the budget compromise. Animal Rights groups put significant pressure on legislators to advance these proposals this session and will continue to do so in the future. Your legislators will appreciate your note of thanks.

If you email them, put “thank you” in the subject line. If you are a constituent, please be sure to mention that when you contact them.

  1. Contact key House and Senate leaders and tell them you appreciate the pet dealer amendments not being included in the budget compromise:

    Senate President Pro Tempore Phil Berger
    Phone: 919-733-5708
    E-mail: Phil.Berger@ncleg.net

    Sen. Tom Apodaca, Senate Rules Chair (Buncombe, Henderson, Transylvania Counties)
    Phone: (919) 733-5745
    E-mail: Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net

    Sen. Andrew Brock, Joint Majority Caucus Leader (Davie, Iredell, and Rowan Counties)
    Phone: (919) 715-0690
    E-mail: Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net

    Sen. Jerry Tillman, Majority Whip (Moore, Randolph Counties)
    Phone: (919) 733-5870
    E-mail: Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net

    Sen. Harry Brown, Majority Leader, Senior Appropriations Chair (Jones, Onslow Counties)
    Phone: (919) 715-3034
    E-mail: Harry.Brown@ncleg.net

    Sen. Brent Jackson (Duplin, Johnston, and Sampson Counties)
    Phone: 919-733-5705
    E-mail: Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net

    House Speaker Thom Tillis
    Phone: 919-733-3451

    Rep. Edgar Starnes, Majority Leader
    Phone: 919-733-5931
    E-mail: Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net

    Rep. James Boles, Jr. (Moore County)
    Phone: (919) 733-5903
    E-mail: Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net

    Rep. N. Leo Daughtry (Johnston County)
    Phone: 919-733-5605
    E-mail: Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net

  2. Contact House and Senate Conference Committee Members and tell them you appreciate the pet dealer amendments not being included in the budget compromise:

    Sen. Ralph Hise (Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, and Yancey Counties)
    Phone: (919) 733-3460
    E-mail: Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net

    Sen. Wesley Meredith (Cumberland County)
    Phone: (919) 733-5776
    E-mail: Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net

    Sen. Louis Pate (Lenoir, Pitt, and Wayne Counties)
    Phone: (919) 733-5621
    E-mail: Louis.Pate@ncleg.net

    Sen. Bill Rabon (Bladen, Brunswick, New Hanover, and Pender Counties)
    Phone: (919) 733-5963
    E-mail: Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net

    Sen. Shirley Randleman (Stokes, Surry, and Wilkes Counties)
    Phone: 919-733-5743
    E-mail: Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net

    Sen. Bob Rucho (Mecklenburg County)
    Phone: (919) 733-5655
    E-mail: Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net

    Sen. Dan Soucek (Allegheny, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, and Watauga Counties)
    Phone: (919) 733-5742
    E-mail: Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net

    Sen. Tommy Tucker (Union County)
    Phone: (919) 733-7659
    E-mail: Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net

    Rep. Marilyn Avila (Wake County)
    Phone: (919) 733-5530
    E-mail: Marilyn.Avila@ncleg.net

    Rep. Hugh Blackwell (Burke County)
    Phone: (919) 733-5805
    E-mail: Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net

    Rep. William Brisson (Bladen, Johnston and Sampson Counties)
    Phone: (919) 733-5772
    E-mail: William.Brisson@ncleg.net

    Rep. Justin Burr, Chair (Montgomery, Stanly Counties)
    Phone: (919) 733-5908
    E-mail: Justin.Burr@ncleg.net

    Rep. George Cleveland (Onslow County)
    Phone: (919) 715-6707
    E-mail: George.Cleveland@ncleg.net

    Rep. John Faircloth (Guilford County)
    Phone: (919) 733-5877
    E-mail: John.Faircloth@ncleg.net

    Rep. Mark Hollo (Alexander, Wilkes and Yadkin Counties)
    Phone: (919) 715-8361
    E-mail: Mark.Hollo@ncleg.net

    Rep. Bryan Holloway (Rockingham, Stokes Counties)
    Phone: (919) 733-5609
    E-mail: Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net

    Rep. D. Craig Horn (Union County)
    Phone: (919) 733-2406
    E-mail: Craig.Horn@ncleg.net

    Rep. Pat Hurley (Randolph County)
    Phone: (919) 733-5865
    E-mail: Pat.Hurley@ncleg.net

    Rep. Donny Lambeth (Forsyth County)
    Phone: (919) 733-5747
    E-mail: Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.net

    Rep. David Lewis (Harnett County)
    Phone: (919) 715-3015
    E-mail: David.Lewis@ncleg.net

    Rep. Chuck McGrady (Henderson County)
    Phone: (919) 733-5956
    E-mail: Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net

    Rep. Phil Shepard (Onslow County)
    Phone: (919) 715-9644
    E-mail: Phil.Shepard@ncleg.net

    Rep. John Torbett (Gaston County)
    Phone: (919) 733-5868
    E-mail: John.Torbett@ncleg.net

    Rep. Roger West (Cherokee, Clay, Graham, and Macon Counties)
    Phone: (919) 733-5839
    E-mail: Roger.West@ncleg.net
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...