AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Featured Items

Bill Will Help Train Service Dogs To Assist North Dakota Veterans

(Tuesday, March 05, 2013)

The American Kennel Club (AKC) is pleased to support North Dakota Senate Bill 2344. The bill seeks to provide for funding for the training of service dogs to assist some of the state’s veterans with posttraumatic stress disorder. All North Dakota residents are encouraged to join in support of the bill.

AKC’s POSITION ON THE USE OF DOGS FOR ASSISTANCE AND SERVICE: The American Kennel Club strongly supports the training and use of dogs to provide assistance and service to humans. Dogs provide valuable service as: seeing eye dogs; hearing dogs; therapy dogs; handicapped assistance dogs; drug, bomb, and arson detection dogs; and tracking dogs to locate missing persons and fugitives.

As currently written, SB 2344 would appropriate $50,000 to the State Department of Veterans’ Affairs for the training service dogs to assist North Dakota veterans having posttraumatic stress disorder. Additionally, the bill would provide for a legislative study to consider future changes that would further benefit North Dakota veterans.

BILL STATUS: The bill has already passed the North Dakota Senate. It will next be considered by the House Government and Veterans Affairs Committee on Friday, March 8, 2013. All North Dakota residents are encouraged to join in support of the bill. Email the committee members below and let them know you support SB 2344.

Representative Jim Kasper, Chairman
Email: jkasper@nd.gov

Representative Randy Boehning, Vice Chairman
Email: rboehning@nd.gov

Representative Bill Amerman
Email: bamerman@nd.gov

Representative Jason Dockter
Email: jddockter@nd.gov

Representative Karen Karls
Email: kkarls@nd.gov

Representative Ben Koppelman
Email: bkoppelman@nd.gov

Representative Vernon R. Laning
Email: vrlaning@nd.gov

Representative Scott Louser
Email: sclouser@nd.gov

Representative Gail Mooney
Email: gmooney@nd.gov

Representative Gary Paur
Email: gpaur@nd.gov

Representative Karen M. Rohr
Email: kmrohr@nd.gov

Representative Vicky Steiner
Email: vsteiner@nd.gov

Representative Marie Strinden
Email: mjstrinden@nd.gov

Representative Steven L. Zaiser
Email: szaiser@nd.gov

Click here to view the list of bills regarding service dogs that the AKC Government Relations Department is currently tracking.

For more information on North Dakota SB 2344 or other pending legislation, contact AKC’s Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720, or email doglaw@akc.org.