AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Featured Items

MO Committee to Consider Pet Breeders Appreciation Month on Tues. (2/7)

(Friday, February 03, 2012)

The American Kennel Club is pleased to announce that the Missouri House Agriculture Policy Committee is scheduled to consider House Bill 1404 on Tuesday, February 7, a bill that would declare December each year as “Pet Breeders Appreciation Month”.

This measure recognizes the wonderful contributions that responsible breeders make not just to the economy but also to the health and well-being of purebred dogs.

Responsible dog owners and breeders in Missouri are encouraged to contact the members of the committee and attend the hearing to express your support.

The text of the measure follows:

The month of December shall be designated as "Pet Breeders Appreciation Month" in Missouri to be observed with activities designed to enhance the knowledge and appreciation of the contributions to our state's citizens and economy made by Missouri pet breeders who responsibly and humanely produce, care for, protect the safety of, and provide the animals which become the beloved and cherished pets that are a valuable and integral part of our citizen's families and lives.

How You Can Help:

  • Attend the February 7 meeting and express your support for House Bill 1404. The hearing information is as follows:

    Missouri House Agriculture Policy Committee
    Date: Tuesday, February 7, 2012
    Time: 12:00 pm
    Location: Missouri State Capitol
    House Hearing Room 6

  • Contact the members of the committee and ask them to support House Bill 1404. Please especially thank Chairman Loehner for hearing the bill and Vice Chairman Reiboldt for sponsoring HB 1404.

Representative Tom Loehner (Chairman)
Phone: 573-751-1344 
E-Mail:Tom.Loehner@house.mo.gov 

Representative Bill Reiboldt (Vice Chair, Sponsor of HB 1404)
Phone: 573-751-9781 
E-Mail:Bill.Reiboldt@house.mo.gov 

Representative Joe Aull
Phone: 573-751-2204 
E-Mail:Joe.Aull@house.mo.gov 

Representative Tony Duggar
Phone: 573-751-2205 
E-Mail:Tony.Dugger@house.mo.gov 

Representative Sue Entlicher
Phone: 573-751-1347 
E-Mail:Sue.Entlicher@house.mo.gov 

Representative Paul Fitzwater
Phone: 573-751-2112 
E-Mail:Paul.Fitzwater@house.mo.gov 

Representative Delus Johnson
Phone: 573-751-3666 
E-Mail:Delus.Johnson@house.mo.gov 

Representative Glen Klippenstein
Phone: 573-751-0246 
E-Mail:Glen.Klippenstein@house.mo.gov 

Representative Bob Nance
Phone: 573-751-1468 
E-Mail:Bob.Nance@house.mo.gov 

Representative Paul Quinn
Phone: 573-751-4028 
E-Mail:Paul.Quinn@house.mo.gov 

Representative Ed Schieffer
Phone: 573-751-9459 
E-Mail:Ed.Schieffer@house.mo.gov 

Representative Tom Shively
Phone: 573-751-4065 
E-Mail:Tom.Shively@house.mo.gov 

Representative Terry Swinger
Phone: 573-751-2264 
E-Mail:Terry.Swinger@house.mo.gov 

Representative Billy Pat Wright
Phone: 573-751-1494 
E-Mail:Billy.Wright@house.mo.gov 

For questions or more information, contact AKC Government Relations at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.