AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Cecil County, MD Update: Ask the Commission for a Hearing!

(Friday, June 10, 2011)

In early May, the Cecil County, Maryland Board of Commissioners announced that a public hearing would be conducted to discuss the proposed changes to the county’s licensing requirements. As noted in AKC’s previous Legislative Alert, these changes will likely include numerous new licenses for those who own intact dogs, breed dogs, or participate in dog events such as conformation shows, obedience or field trials, or hunting.

To date, the Commission has not scheduled a hearing, but the proposal is still under consideration. It is important that responsible dog owners and breeders continue to contact the County Administrator and Commission. Politely express your concerns with the proposal and ask them to oppose it. Also let them know that you would like them to hold a public hearing before making a final decision on this measure.

Cecil County Commission Contact Information:

County Administrator Alfred Wein, Jr.
200 Chesapeake Blvd., Suite 2100
Elkton, MD 21921
Phone: (410) 996-8301
E-mail: awein@ccgov.org

Contact information for all commissioners:
200 Chesapeake Blvd., Suite 2100
Elkton, MD 21921
Phone: (410) 996-5201
Fax: (410) 996-1014

Commission President Jim Mullin (1st District)
E-mail: jmullin@ccgov.org

Vice President Diana Broomell (4th District)
E-mail: dbroomell@ccgov.org

Commissioner Michael Dunn (3rd District)
E-mail: mdunn@ccgov.org

Commissioner Robert Hodge (5th District)
E-mail: rhodge@ccgov.org

Commissioner Tari Moore (2nd District)
E-mail: tmoore@ccgov.org 

The AKC Government Relations Department will continue to monitor this proposal closely and provide further information as it becomes available. For more information, contact AKC Government Relations at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.