AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

UPDATE: Cecil County, MD to Hold Public Hearing on Exhibitor/Kennel Licensing

(Thursday, May 12, 2011)

The Cecil County, Maryland Board of Commissioners has announced that a public hearing will be conducted to discuss the proposed changes to the county’s licensing requirements. As noted in AKC’s previous Legislative Alert, these changes will likely include numerous new licenses for those who own intact dogs, breed, or participate in dog events such as conformation shows, obedience or field trials, or hunting.

Your calls and letters are getting noticed! Although a date has not been officially announced, it is important that responsible dog owners and breeders continue to contact the County Administrator and Commission. Politely ask that they not proceed with expensive, burdensome regulations that would violate the rights of responsible dog owners, breeders and exhibitors.

Cecil County Commission Contact Information:

County Administrator Alfred Wein, Jr.
200 Chesapeake Blvd., Suite 2100
Elkton, MD 21921
Phone: (410) 996-8301
E-mail: awein@ccgov.org

Contact information for all commissioners:
200 Chesapeake Blvd., Suite 2100
Elkton, MD 21921
Phone: (410) 996-5201
Fax: (410) 996-1014

Commission President Jim Mullin (1st District)
E-mail: jmullin@ccgov.org

Vice President Diana Broomell (4th District)
E-mail: dbroomell@ccgov.org

Commissioner Michael Dunn (3rd District)
E-mail: mdunn@ccgov.org

Commissioner Robert Hodge (5th District)
E-mail: rhodge@ccgov.org

Commissioner Tari Moore (2nd District)
E-mail: tmoore@ccgov.org 

The AKC Government Relations Department will continue to monitor this proposal closely and provide further information as it becomes available. For more information, contact AKC Government Relations at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.