AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

URGENT ACTION NEEDED: North Carolina House to vote on Breeders Bill MONDAY

(Friday, August 07, 2009)

North Carolina Senate Bill 460 passed the House Commerce Committee yesterday on a 14-12 vote with several amendments. The measure is now scheduled to be heard Monday afternoon in the House Finance Committee. If the bill passes Finance, it will be voted on that evening by the full House.

It is imperative that all concerned responsible dog breeders and owners in North Carolina immediately call or email the members of the House Finance committee, and their elected Representatives, and let them know that you oppose SB 460.

The AKC is gravely concerned about the following issues:

  • SB 460 contains an unconstitutionally vague definition of "commercial breeder" and licensing requirements. It defines Commercial breeder as someone who owns 15 or more intact females "of breeding age" and 30 or more puppies. It is unclear whether these numbers refer to the number of dogs on the property at one time, or if this is cumulative. Misleading exemptions for kennels or establishments that board or train certain dogs do not exempt breeders.
  • SB 460 will do nothing to protect the health or welfare of dogs in North Carolina. North Carolina’s existing animal welfare statutes, as currently enforced, do a better job of protecting dogs than the provisions of SB 460 will should the bill be enacted. This makes SB 460 simply unnecessary.

AKC’s ongoing economic impact research shows that, in 2008, AKC-sanctioned 486 events in North Carolina, with 68,364 entries. These events generated approximately $45,125,993 for North Carolina’s state and local economies. (This does not take into consideration the economic impact of AKC’s Operations Center, which employs over 300 North Carolinians.) If passed as currently worded, SB 460 will send a clear message that purebred dog fanciers and enthusiasts and their events will no longer be welcomed in the Tarheel State.

The AKC believes that a better alternative to SB 460 is the continued enforcement of existing North Carolina law while all stakeholders work together on appropriate future legislation that will encourage better education of all responsible dog breeders and continued enforcement of existing law.

Many groups oppose this bill, including the American Kennel Club, the National Animal Interest Alliance, the North Carolina Federation of Dog Clubs, the American Veterinary Medical Association, the North Carolina Veterinary Medical Association, the North Carolina Sporting Dog Association, the National Rifle Association, and all major North Carolina farming associations.

WHAT YOU CAN DO:

All concerned responsible dog breeders and owners in North Carolina are encouraged to immediately contact their State Representative, as well as the members of the House Committee on Finance.

Respectfully yet strongly let them know that you oppose the unnecessary Senate Bill 460, and urge them to do the same.

To find your North Carolina Representative, click here, then enter your zip code in the "Who Represents Me?" box on the right side of the page.

Members of the House Committee on Finance:

Representative Paul Luebke, Senior Chairman
Phone: 919-733-7663
E-mail: Paul.Luebke@ncleg.net

Representative Pryor Gibson, Chairman
Phone: 919-715-3007
E-mail: Pryor.Gibson@ncleg.net

Representative William L. Wainwright, Chairman
Phone: 919-733-5995
E-mail: William.Wainwright@ncleg.net

Representative Jennifer Weiss, Chairman
Phone: 919-715-3010
E-mail: Jennifer.Weiss@ncleg.net

Representative Dewey L. Hill, Vice Chairman
Phone: 919-733-5830
E-mail: Dewey.Hill@ncleg.net

Representative Hugh Holliman, Vice Chairman
Phone: 919-715-0873
E-mail: Hugh.Holliman@ncleg.net

Representative Julia C. Howard, Vice Chairman
Phone: 919-733-5904
E-mail: Julia.Howard@ncleg.net

Representative Daniel F. McComas, Vice Chairman
Phone: 919-733-5786
E-mail: Danny.McComas@ncleg.net

Representative Larry Womble, Vice Chairman
Phone: 919-733-5777
E-mail: Larry.Womble@ncleg.net

Representative Kelly M. Alexander, Jr.
Phone: 919-733-5778
E-mail: Kelly.Alexander@ncleg.net

Representative Curtis Blackwood
Phone: 919-733-2406
E-mail: Curtis.Blackwood@ncleg.net

Representative John M. Blust
Phone: 919-733-5781
E-mail: John.Blust@ncleg.net

Representative R. Van Braxton
Phone: 919-715-3017
E-mail: Van.Braxton@ncleg.net

Representative Becky Carney
Phone: 919-733-5827
E-mail: Becky.Carney@ncleg.net

Representative Tricia Ann Cotham
Phone: 919-715-0706
E-mail: Tricia.Cotham@ncleg.net

Representative Bill Faison
Phone: 919-715-3019
E-mail: Bill.Faison@ncleg.net

Representative Dale R. Folwell
Phone: 919-733-5787
E-mail: Dale.Folwell@ncleg.net

Representative Larry D. Hall
Phone: 919-733-5872
E-mail: Larry.Hall@ncleg.net

Representative Sandra Spaulding Hughes
Phone: 919-733-5754
E-mail: Sandra.Hughes@ncleg.net

Representative Earl Jones
Phone: 919-733-5825
E-mail: Earl.Jones@ncleg.net

Representative David R. Lewis
Phone: 919-715-3015
E-mail: David.Lewis@ncleg.net

Representative Darrell G. McCormick
Phone: 919-733-5654
E-mail: Darrell.McCormick@ncleg.net

Representative William C. "Bill" McGee
Phone: 919-733-5747
E-mail: William.McGee@ncleg.net

Representative Bill Owens
Phone: 919-733-0010
E-mail: Bill.Owens@ncleg.net

Representative Johnathan Rhyne, Jr.
Phone: 919-733-5782
E-mail: Johnathan.Rhyne@ncleg.net

Representative Deborah K. Ross
Phone: 919-733-5773
E-mail: Deborah.Ross@ncleg.net

Representative Mitchell S. Setzer
Phone: 919-733-4948
E-mail: Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.net

Representative Paul Stam
Phone: 919-733-2962
E-mail: Paul.Stam@ncleg.net

Representative Edgar V. Starnes
Phone: 919-733-5931
E-mail: Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net

Representative Thom Tillis
Phone: 919-733-5828
E-mail: Thom.Tillis@ncleg.net

RESOURCES:

For tips on how to effectively communicate with legislators, please click here.

For a copy of our Disagree Diplomatically brochure, please click here.

For more information, contact the AKC’s Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720, or e-mail doglaw@akc.org.