AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

CA AB 241 Moves to Business & Professions Committee

(Wednesday, April 22, 2009)

Assembly Bill 241 passed the Assembly Public Safety Committee 5-2 and will now be heard by the Assembly Business and Professions Committee at 9am on April 28th. The Public Safety Committee adopted amendments to remove the inspections language and the bill now provides simply that animal control officers may take possession of an animal to protect the health and safety of the animal or the public. The committee removed the exemption for retail pet stores and clarified that the limit of 50 unsterilized animals applies to animals used at any time for the purpose of breeding for sale as pets.

The American Kennel Club remains opposed to this legislation as it is currently drafted and encourages California fanciers and responsible owners and breeders to write their elected officials and ask them to work together on a bill which will not negatively impact responsible breeders. The Assembly Public Safety Committee analysis which erroneously listed AKC under both support and opposition has been updated to reflect our opposition.

Assembly Business and Professions Committee
Hearing
April 28th at 9am
State Capitol, Room 447
Sacramento, CA 95814

Assemblymember Mary Hayashi (Chair)
Assemblymember.Hayashi@assembly.ca.gov
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0000
Phone (916) 319-2018
Fax: (916) 319-2118

Assemblymember Bill Emmerson (Vice-Chair)
Assemblymember.emmerson@assembly.ca.gov
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0000
Phone: (916) 319-2063
Fax: (916) 319-2163

Assemblymember Connie Conway
Assemblymember.Conway@assembly.ca.gov
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0000
Phone: (916) 319-2034
Fax: (916) 319-2134

Assemblymember Mike Eng
Assemblymember.Eng@Assembly.ca.gov
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0000
Phone: (916) 319-2049
Fax: (916) 319-2149

Assemblymember Edward P. Hernandez
Assemblymember.Hernandez@assembly.ca.gov
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0000
Phone: (916) 319-2057
Fax: (916) 319-2157

Assemblymember Pedro Nava (Author)
Assemblymember.nava@assembly.ca.gov
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0000
Phone: (916) 319-2035
Fax: (916) 319-2135

Assemblymember Roger Niello
Assemblymember.niello@assembly.ca.gov
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0000
Phone: (916) 319-2005
Fax: (916) 319-2105

Assemblymember John A. Pérez
Assemblymember.John.Perez@assembly.ca.gov
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0000
Phone: (916) 319-2046
Fax: (916) 319-2146

Assemblymember Curren D. Price Jr.
Assemblymember.Price@assembly.ca.gov
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0000
Phone: (916) 319-2051
Fax: (916) 319-2151

Assemblymember Ira Ruskin
Assemblymember.Ruskin@assembly.ca.gov
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0000
Phone: (916) 319-2021
Fax: (916) 319-2121

Assemblymember Cameron Smyth
Assemblymember.Smyth@assembly.ca.gov
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0000
Phone: (916) 319-2038
Fax: (916) 319-2138