AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

URGENT: CA Ear Crop Bill Moving Quickly!

(Wednesday, June 23, 2004)
SB1548, which includes language that would make ear cropping a misdemeanor, easily passed the Assembly Committee on Business and Professions this week. The majority of the bill pertains to other aspects of veterinary medicine and has the support of the veterinary community. AKC is therefore urging fanciers to contact the bill sponsor and ask her to remove the ear cropping provision. California fanciers must act NOW to prevent the criminalization of this procedure.

The Honorable Liz Figueroa (D-10) Fremont
State Capitol, Room 2057
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 445-6671
Fax (916) 327-2433
Senator.Figueroa@sen.ca.gov
......

CA Bill Would Ban Ear Cropping
[Monday, June 21, 2004]

California fanciers, take note! The Animal Council reports that SB1548, a bill pertaining to veterinary medicine, was amended last week to include a ban on ear cropping for dogs. Violators will be charged with a misdemeanor unless the procedure was done for treatment of disease or injury to the dog. The bill defines "disease or injury" as a condition that impairs normal physiological functioning. Prevention of ear infections is not considered a valid reason for performing the procedure.

The American Kennel Club recognizes that ear cropping, as described in certain breed standards, is an acceptable practice integral to defining and preserving breed character and/or enhancing good health. We encourage proper veterinary care at all times.

What You Can Do:

Concerned dog owners should immediately fax, phone or e-mail members of the Assembly Committee on Business and Professions, where SB1548 has been referred. The Animal Council urges fanciers to clearly mark any faxed letters with the following: "SB1548, as amended June 14, Figueroa. Veterinary medicine-OPPOSITION."

Assembly Committee on Business and Professions
Committee Office Phone: ( 916) 319-3301
Assembly email link page
http://www.assembly.ca.gov/acs/acsframeset7text.htm

The Honorable Lou Correa (Chairman) (D-69 Orange) - Member Office
State Capitol, Room 6025
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone (916) 319-2069
Fax (916) 319-2169
assemblymember.correa@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Shirley Horton (R-78) of San Diego - Vice Chair
State Capitol, Room 5126
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone (916) 319-2078
Fax (916) 319-2178
assemblymember.shirley.horton@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Greg Aghazarian (R-26 San Joaquin, Stanislaus)
State Capital, Room 2130
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone (916)319-2026
Fax (916) 319-2126
assemblymember.aghazarian@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Rudy Bermudez (D-56 Los Angeles, Orange)
State Capitol, Room 5135
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2056
Fax (916) 319-2156
assemblymember.bermudez@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Ellen M. Corbett (D-18 San Leandro)
State Capitol, Room 4126
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone (916) 319-2018
Fax (916) 319-2118
assemblymember.corbett@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Paul Koretz (D-42, West Hollywood)
State Capitol, Room 2176
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2042
FAX: 916-319-2142
Assemblymember.Koretz@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Mark Leno (D-13) San Francisco
State Capitol, Room 3146
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone (916) 319-2013
Fax (916) 319-2113
Assemblymember.leno@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Abel Maldonado (R-33) an Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara
State Capitol, Room 4015
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone (916) 319-2033
Fax (916) 319-2133
assemblymember.maldonado@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Bill Maze (R-34, Visalia)
State Capitol, Room 2002
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone (916) 319-2034
Fax (916) 319-2134
Assemblymember.maze@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Joe Nation (D-6 Marin, Sonoma)
State Capitol, Room 3013
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone (916) 319-2006
Fax (916) 319-2106
joe.nation@asm.ca.gov

The Honorable Gloria Negrete McLeod (D-61) Montclair
State Capitol, Room 5016
Sacramento, CA 94249-0061
Phone (916) 319-2061
Fax (916) 319-2161
Assemblymember.McLeod@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Juan Vargas (D-79 San Diego)
State Capitol, Room 2113
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone (916) 319-2079
Fax (916) 319-2179
assemblymember.vargas@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Leland Yee (D-12 San Francisco, San Mateo)
State Capitol, Room 2188
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone (916) 319-2012
Fax (916) 319-2112
assemblymember.yee@assembly.ca.gov

*****

The Honorable Liz Figueroa (D-10) Fremont AUTHOR
State Capitol, Room 2057
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone (916) 445-6671
Fax (916) 327-2433
Senator.Figueroa@sen.ca.gov

For more information, contact:

The Animal Council
TheAnimalCouncil@cs.com

AKC's Canine Legislation Department
919-816-3720, doglaw@akc.org