Search Menu

 

Thursday, May 16, 2019

Amended Texas House Bill 3092 seeks to require animal shelters to provide notice to each person who adopts an animal from the shelter of any epizootic infectious disease that occurs among the animals in the shelter within a 15-day period before and after the date of transfer.   The bill has already passed the House and is scheduled to be considered by the Senate Health and Human Services committee on Thursday, May 16, 2019, at 8AM.

Amendments to the bill have reduced the original 30-day notice period down to 15-days and exempted shelters from penalties if they violate the bill’s notice requirements.  Nevertheless, the American Kennel Club (AKC) continues to support HB 3092 due to its potential impact on protecting the public’s health. 

Click here to read AKC’s original alert on HB 3092.

WHAT YOU CAN DO:
Texas residents are encouraged to contact the members of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee and express support of HB 3092.

State Senator Lois W. Kolkhorst, Chair
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0118
District Phone: (979) 251-7888
Lois.Kolkhorst@senate.texas.gov

State Senator Charles Perry, Vice Chair
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0128
District Phone: (806) 783-9934
charles.perry@senate.texas.gov

State Senator Dawn Buckingham
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0124
District Phone: (254) 939-3854
dawn.buckingham@senate.texas.gov

State Senator Donna Campbell
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0125
District Phone: (210) 979-0013
donna.campbell@senate.texas.gov

State Senator Peter P. Flores
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0119
District Phone: (210) 784-5024
peter.flores@senate.texas.gov

State Senator Nathan Johnson
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0116
nathan.johnson@senate.texas.gov

State Senator Borris L. Miles
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0113
District Phone: (713) 665-8322
borris.miles@senate.texas.gov

State Senator Beverly Powell
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0110
beverly.powell@senate.texas.gov

State Senator Kel Seliger
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0131
District Phone: (806) 374-8994
kel.seliger@senate.texas.gov

AKC Government Relations (AKC GR) will continue to provide updates on HB 3092 as developments warrant.  For more information on this bill or on other Texas legislation, contact AKC GR at doglaw@akc.org.

 

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you