Search Menu

Monday, March 18, 2019

Committees of the Texas Legislature are scheduled to consider three dog-related bills this week.

HOUSE BILL 921 and HOUSE BILL 3092 – HOUSE PUBLIC HEALTH COMMITTEE

House Bill 921 seeks to require animal shelters and releasing agencies to prepare and maintain records on the intake and disposition of animals in the care of the shelter or agency and to make those records available to the Health and Human Services Commission, while House Bill 3092 would require shelters to provide written notice to each person who adopts an animal from the shelter of any epizootic infectious disease that occurs among the animals in the shelter within a 30-day period before and after the date of transfer.

Due to an increasing number of instances of zoonotic diseases originating in shelters and rescues believed to be caused by trafficking practices that lack health checks and because shelter statistics are often used to promote anti-breeder legislation, the American Kennel Club (AKC) supports both HB 921 and HB 3092.

These bills are scheduled to be considered by the House Public Health Committee on Wednesday, March 20, 2019.  Texas residents are strongly encouraged to contact the members of the committee and express support of both HB 921 and HB 3092.

State Representative Senfronia Thompson, Chair
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0720
District Phone: (713) 633-3390
Senfronia.Thompson@house.texas.gov

State Representative John Wray, Vice Chair
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0516
District Phone: (972) 938-9392
john.wray@house.texas.gov

State Representative Steve Allison
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0686
District Phone: (210) 828-4411
steve.allison@house.texas.gov

State Representative Garnet Coleman
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0524
District Phone: (713) 520-5355
garnet.coleman@house.texas.gov

State Representative James B. Frank
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0534
District Phone: (940) 767-1700
James.Frank@house.texas.gov

State Representative R.D. “Bobby” Guerra
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0578
District Phone: (956) 292-0407
bobby.guerra@house.texas.gov

State Representative Eddie Lucio III
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0606
District Phone: (956) 542-2800
eddie.lucio_iii@house.texas.gov

State Representative Evelina “Lina” Ortega
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0638
District Phone: (915) 351-4031
lina.ortega@house.texas.gov

State Representative Four Price
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0470
District Phone: (806) 374-8787
four.price@house.texas.gov

State Representative J.D. Sheffield
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0628
District Phone: (254) 918-5729
j.d.sheffield@house.texas.gov

State Representative Bill Zedler
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0374
District Phone: (817) 483-1885
Bill.Zedler@house.texas.gov

 

HOUSE BILL 2233 – HOUSE CORRECTIONS COMMITTEE

House Bill 2233 seeks to provide clarification on the process currently required by the state’s Dog and Cat Breeders Act that requires the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation to deny the issuance of a license to, or refuse to renew the license of, a person if they have pleaded guilty to, been convicted of, or received deferred adjudication for animal cruelty or neglect in the five years preceding the person’s initial or renewal application for a license.  The bill also seeks to add those who have pleaded “no contest” to the reasons why the Department shall deny a license.

HB 2233 is scheduled to be considered by the House Corrections Committee on Thursday, March 21.  Texas residents are encouraged to contact the committee to express support or concerns with HB 2233.

State Representative James White, Chair
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0490
District Phone: (409) 283-3700
James.White@house.texas.gov

State Representative Alma Allen, Vice Chair
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0744
District Phone: (713) 776-0505
Alma.Allen@house.texas.gov

State Representative Ernest Bailes
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0570
ernest.bailes@house.texas.gov

State Representative Rhetta Andrews Bowers
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0464
rhetta.bowers@house.texas.gov

State Representative Jay Dean
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0750
District Office: (903) 238-8452
jay.dean@house.texas.gov

State Representative Victoria Neave
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0244
District Phone: (972) 288-9438
victoria.neave@house.texas.gov

State Representative Carl O. Sherman, Sr.
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0953
carl.sherman@house.texas.gov

State Representative Phil Stephenson
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0604
District Phone: (281) 232-7900
Phil.Stephenson@house.texas.gov

AKC Government Relations (AKC GR) will provide updates on these bills as developments warrant.  For more information on these bills or other Texas legislation, contact AKC GR at doglaw@akc.org.

 

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you