Search Menu

Texas House Bill 652 would require animal shelters to provide notice to each person who adopts an animal from the shelter of any epizootic infectious disease that occurs among the animals in the shelter within a 15-days period before and after the date of transfer. “Epizootic” means the occurrence in a given geographic area or population of cases of a disease clearly in excess of the expected frequency.)

The bill is scheduled for consideration by the House Committee on Public Health on Wednesday, March 10, at 8 AM.

The American Kennel Club (AKC) believes HB 652 is a common-sense measure that can help inform adopters about potential health concerns, and protect pet health overall. AKC encourages all Texas residents to express support for HB 652.

Specifically, the bill would require animal shelters to provide written, electronic, or telephone notice to each person who adopts an animal from the shelter of any epizootic infectious disease that occurs among the animals in the shelter within the 15-day period before or after the adoption.  No civil penalties would apply to violations.

The AKC expressed support for similar legislation in 2019.

WHAT YOU CAN DO:
Texas residents are encouraged to contact the members of the House Public Health Committee to express support of HB 652.  Those who wish to electronically submit testimony without testifying in person can do so until the hearing is adjourned by visiting: https://comments.house.texas.gov/home?c=c4.

Comments to individual committee members may be directed to:

Rep. Stephanie Klick, Chair (Dist. 91-Ft. Worth)
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0599
District Phone: (817) 281-0079
Stephanie.Klick@house.texas.gov

Rep. R.D. “Bobby” Guerra, Vice Chair (Dist. 41-Mission)
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0578
District Phone: (956) 292-0407
bobby.guerra@house.texas.gov

Rep. Steve Allison (Dist. 121-San Antonio)
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0686
District Phone: (512) 463-0686
steve.allison@house.texas.gov

Rep. Elizabeth “Liz” Campos (Dist. 119-San Antonio)
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0452
Click here to Rep. Campos’ email form.

Rep. Garnet Coleman (Dist. 147-Houston)
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0524
District Phone: (713) 520-5355
garnet.coleman@house.texas.gov

Rep. Nicole Collier (Dist. 95-Ft. Worth)
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0716
District Phone: (817) 332-1180
Nicole.Collier@house.texas.gov

Rep. Jacey Jetton (Dist. 26-Richmond)
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0710
jacey.jetton@house.texas.gov

Rep. Tom Oliverson (Dist. 130-Cypress)
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0661
District Phone: (281) 955-5152
tom.oliverson@house.texas.gov

Rep. Four Price (Dist. 87-Amarillo)
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0470
District Phone: (806) 374-8787
four.price@house.texas.gov

Rep. Reggie Smith (Dist. 62-Sherman)
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0297
District Phone: (903) 891-7297
reggie.smith@house.texas.gov

Rep. Erin Zwiener (Dist. 45-Driftwood)
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0647
erin.zwiener@house.texas.gov

A live video broadcast of this hearing will be available here: https://house.texas.gov/video-audio/.

AKC Government Relations will provide updates on this legislation as developments warrant.  For more information, email doglaw@akc.org.

https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you