Search Menu

Last night, the Evanston City Council voted to delay action on a measure that would significantly restrict the sale of dogs in the city.

As stated in the previous alert, sales would be banned in the city unless the animals are from a shelter, a rescue, or a breeder that BOTH has a USDA license and has no more than 5 female dogs capable of reproduction on their property in a 12-month period and keeps no more than 5 female dogs capable of reproduction at any one time.

Questions were raised regarding USDA licensing, which requires someone to own more than four breeding females and sell one dog sight unseen.  It was also acknowledged in the meeting that there are many concerns over the impact this would have on individuals breeding and selling animals in the city.

AKC thanks the Illinois Federation of Dog Clubs and Owners and the clubs that joined the AKC in reaching out on short notice to express questions and concerns with the proposal as introduced.   We encourage those who reside in Evanston to continue contacting the council.  Thank them for delaying action on this measure and respectfully express your concerns on the impact this proposal as introduced would have on responsible breeders in Evanston.

Council Contact Information:

Mayor Stephen Hagerty
847.866.2979
shagerty@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Judy Fiske
jfiske@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Peter Braithwaite
847.801.9386
pbraithwaite@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Melissa Wynne
847.840.7751
mwynne@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Donald Wilson
847.859.9410
dwilson@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Robin Rue Simmons
847.521.6434
rsimmons@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Thomas Suffredin
847.859.7810
tsuffredin@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Elanor Revelle
312.459.0644
erevelle@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Ann Rainey
847-989-0229
arainey@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Cicely Fleming
224.204.4017
cfleming@cityofevanston.org

AKC Government Relations and the Illinois Federation of Dog Clubs and Owners continue to closely monitor this proposal and communicate with the council.  For more information, contact AKC GR at doglaw@akc.org or IFDCO at schipnut58@yahoo.com.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you