Search Menu

March 9, 2020

The City of Evanston has suspended its procedural rules and will be considering and possibly voting on an ordinance TONIGHT (Monday, March 9) that would ban the sale of dogs, cats, and rabbits in the city unless the animals are from a shelter, rescue, or a breeder that BOTH has a USDA license and has no more than 5 female dogs capable of reproduction on their property in a 12-month period.

In other words, this proposal would ban the sale of dogs in the city from any breeders – including hobby and home-based breeders – unless they currently possess a USDA license and have fewer than five female dogs “capable of reproduction” over the course of a year AND keep no more than five female dogs capable of reproduction at any one time.

Read the proposal in its entirety on the city’s website.

The AKC strongly encourages those who reside in Evanston to consider attending tonight’s meeting, and to contact the City Council IMMEDIATELY to express concerns with this proposal and ask them to support responsible breeders.  For more talking points, visit the Breeding Regulations and Restrictions key issues page in the AKC Legislative Action Center.

Hearing and Contact Information:

Evanston City Council Meeting
Monday, March 9, 2020
7:00 pm
Lorraine H. Morton Civic Center, James C. Lytle City Council Chambers
Room 2800
Evanston, Illinois

Council Contact Information:

Mayor Stephen Hagerty
847.866.2979
shagerty@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Judy Fiske
jfiske@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Peter Braithwaite
847.801.9386
pbraithwaite@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Melissa Wynne
847.840.7751
mwynne@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Donald Wilson
847.859.9410
dwilson@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Robin Rue Simmons
847.521.6434
rsimmons@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Thomas Suffredin
847.859.7810
tsuffredin@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Elanor Revelle
312.459.0644
erevelle@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Ann Rainey
847-989-0229
arainey@cityofevanston.org

Alderman Cicely Fleming
224.204.4017
cfleming@cityofevanston.org

AKC Government Relations and the Illinois Federation of Dog Clubs and Owners are both contacting the council to express concerns.  For more information, contact AKC GR at doglaw@akc.org or IFDCO at schipnut58@yahoo.com.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you