Search Menu

Alabama House Bill 235, which seeks to authorize food service establishments to allow pet dogs in outdoor restaurant seating areas if the company wishes to do so, continues to advance. It has already passed in the House and will next be voted on by the Senate Committee on Fiscal Responsibility and Economic Development. The bill could appear on the committee’s agenda as early as Wednesday, March 10, 2021. Dog owners who support this legislation are encouraged to send messages of support to committee members urging them to vote yes on HB 235. Please scroll down for contact information.

For more information on HB 235, view AKC’s 2/8/21 legislative alert in support of this legislation.

Committee Contact Information:

 Senator Steve Livingston, (334) 261-0858, steve.livingston@alsenate.gov
Senator Garlan Gudger, (334) 261-0855, garlan.gudger@alsenate.gov
Senator Vivian Figures, (334) 261-0871, vivian.figures@alsenate.gov
Senator Malika Sanders-Fortier, (334) 261-0860, malika.sanders-fortier@alsenate.gov
Senator Dan Roberts, (334) 261-0856, dan.roberts@alsenate.gov
Senator Will Barfoot, (334) 261-0895, will.barfoot@alsenate.gov
Senator Arthur Orr, (334) 261-0758, arthur.orr@alsenate.gov
Senator Shay Shelnutt, (334) 261-0794, shay.sd17@gmail.com
Senator Clyde Chambliss, (334) 261-0872, clyde.chambliss@alsenate.gov
Senator Clay Scofield, (334) 261-0876, clay.scofield@alsenate.gov
Senator Tom Butler, (334) 261-0884, senbutler@aol.com
Senator Andrew Jones, (334) 261-0857, andrew.jones@alsenate.gov
Senator Greg J.  Reed (334) 261-0894, greg.reed@alsenate.gov

Please also take a moment to thank Rep. Steve McMillan for sponsoring HB 235 at (334) 261-0523 or bcld07@gmail.com.

For more information, please contact AKC Government Relations at doglaw@akc.org or 919-816-3720.

https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you