Search Menu

Alabama House Bill 235, among other provisions, would authorize food service establishments to allow pet dogs in outdoor restaurant seating areas if the company wishes to do so.  It requires that the dog be leashed or in a pet carrier and under control, and sets out access, sanitation, and other requirements.

HB 235 is on the agenda of the House Committee on County and Municipal Government for Wednesday, February 10, 2021.  Dog owners who support this legislation are encouraged to send messages to committee members urging them to vote yes on HB 235.  Scroll down for contact information.

Additional Provisions:  HB 235 specifies that only service animals and dogs under control of on-duty uniformed law enforcement officers are permitted to be inside food service establishments.  It further provides that emotional support animals are not service animals within the meaning of the Americans with Disabilities Act, and therefore are prohibited from being inside a food service establishment.

The American Kennel Club (AKC) encourages dog owners to provide proper care, training and socialization to ensure that their pets remain happy members of their family, respectable members of the community and well-mannered canine good citizens.  AKC and its affiliated clubs offer a wide range of educational programs and materials to teach dog owners how to reach these goals while enjoying their dogs for many years to come.

AKC thanks Rep. Steve McMillan for sponsoring this legislation that benefits owners of well-mannered dogs and protects the rights of service animal users.

Contact information, House Committee on County and Municipal Government: 

Rep. Reed Ingram, Chair, reedingram75@gmail.com, (334) 261-0507
Rep. Margie Wilcox, Vice Chair, margie.wilcox@alhouse.gov, (334) 261-0577
Rep. Barbara Boyd, Ranking Minority Member, barbara.boyd@alhouse.gov, (334) 261-0592
Rep. Steve Hurst, steve.hurst@alhouse.gov, (334) 261-0415
Rep. Adline Clarke, adline.clarke@alhouse.gov, (334) 261-0549
Rep. Rodney Sullivan, rodney.sullivan@alhouse.gov, (334) 261-0403
Rep. Chris Blackshear, chris.blackshear@alhouse.gov, (334) 261-0428
Rep. Debbie Wood, debbie.wood@alhouse.gov, (334) 261-0532
Rep. David Wheeler, david.wheeler@alhouse.gov, (334) 261-0439
Rep. Danny Crawford, danny.crawford@alhouse.gov, (334) 261-0516
Rep. Stephen McMillan, bcld07@gmail.com, (334) 261-0523
Rep. Sam Jones, sam.jones@alhouse.gov, (334) 261-0963

Please also take a moment to thank Rep. McMillan for sponsoring HB 235.

For more information, please contact AKC Government Relations at doglaw@akc.org or 919-816-3720.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you