Search Menu

Taking top prize at a conformation show is an honor for any dog. But winning the AKC National Championship presented by Royal Canin is one of the highest honors in the sport. This weekend-long national dog show welcomes entries from all over the world and from all 192 AKC-recognized breeds as they face off for Best in Show.

The first AKC National Championship took place in 2001, although it was known as the American Dog Classic at the time. In the beginning, the weekend was devoted to conformation only, but as the years went on and the show grew, other events were added to the festivities, including agility and obedience. By 2017, the weekend featured even more events, such as the North America Diving Dogs (NADD)/AKC Diving Dogs Championship and the AKC Royal Canin National All-Breed Puppy and Junior Stakes. There was also a record number of competitors, with 4,803 dogs competing for the title of National Champion. Including the thousands of entries for the other events, this was the largest dog show held in the United States since the AKC Centennial Show in 1984.

Dogs at the AKC National Championship presented by Royal Canin are not competing against one another. Judges don’t compare one dog to the next. Winning dogs are those that most closely conform to their breed standard. In celebration of the upcoming 18th AKC National Championship presented by Royal Canin to be held December 15 and 16 in Orlando, Florida, meet all the winning dogs of the past AKC National Championships.

2017 — At the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, GCHP CH Silverhall Strike Force, a Cocker Spaniel commonly called Striker, pulled off top honors. Cocker Spaniels have been exhibited in the United States since the early 1880s.

2016 — The first corded dog to take top place, GCHB CH Cordmaker Mister Blue Sky (Preston), a Puli, won in 2016. Along with winning his title, Preston beat out nearly 5,000 other dogs to win the $50,000 cash prize.

2015 — Rumor has it that a German Shepherd Dog won over the judge in 2015. GCH CH Lockenhaus’ Rumor Has It V Kenlyn (Rumor) was named National Champion that year. For conformation showing, GSDs have a unique stack or pose, where one rear leg is under the body and the other extended backward.

2014 — GCH CH Cragsmoor Good Time Charlie (Charlie), a Skye Terrier, surely had a good time winning National Champion in 2014. In the past, these rugged little terriers went from working farm dog to a favorite of British nobility.

2013 — A Portuguese Water Dog, GCH CH Claircreek Impression De Matisse, commonly called Matisse, was the big winner in 2013. Bo and Sunny were two Portuguese Water Dogs that called the White House home, thanks to the Obama family.

2012 — Another terrier, this time a Wire Fox Terrier named GCH CH Afterall Painting The Sky (Sky), took the top honor in 2012. This delightful breed was once a core part of traditional British fox hunts.

2011 — A standard Poodle named GCH CH Jaset’s Satisfaction (London) won in 2011. The rounded tufts on the legs, hips, and tail tip of a show Poodle are known as pompons. Their original purpose was to keep vital areas, like the joints, warm.

2010 — In 2010, CH Propwash Reckon (Reckon), an Australian Shepherd, was the first member of the herding group to take National Champion. These iconic cowboy dogs were actually perfected in America, not Australia.

2009 — This year saw a Scottish Terrier named CH Roundtown Mercedes of Maryscot (Sadie) take the win. Sadie’s father and littermates were all named after types of cars. She was the first Triple Crown winner of United States-based conformation dog shows, winning the National Dog Show the month before and the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show a few months later.

2008 — A Pointer by the delicious-sounding name of Cookieland Seasyde Hollyberry (Holly) was the National Champion in 2008. Pointers were one of the first eight breeds registered in America in 1878.

2007 — CH Efbe’s Hildago At Goodspice was the big winner in 2007. This Sealyham Terrier was commonly called Charmin because his owner/handler said when he was a puppy, he was “squeezably soft.” His slogan became “Charmin’s on a roll.”

2006 — The show was held in both January and December in 2006, giving us two National Champions for this year. The first was an Alaskan Malamute called Nanuke’s SnoKlassic No Boundaries (Costello).

2006 — The second Best in Show winner of 2006 was Felicity’s Diamond Jim, an English Springer Spaniel commonly known as James. James was also the 2007 Best in Show winner at the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show, after which he retired to become a certified therapy dog.

2005 — CH Heathers Knock On Wood, also known as Knotty, was the big winner in 2005. This Bloodhound was the first member of the hound group to take the event’s top prize.

2003 — This year’s winner was a Norfolk Terrier known as Cracknor Cause Celebre, or Coco for short. When it comes to showing these small but mighty terriers, “honorable scars from wear and tear are acceptable in the ring.”

2002 — CH Torums Scarf Michael (Mick or Mike), a Kerry Blue Terrier from England, was the first dog to win a Triple Crown (winning three prestigious events). He also won Best in Show at the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show and in England at Crufts.

2001 — The first National Champion was a Bichon Frise named Ch. Special Times Just Right (J.R.). When the judge awarded the rosette to J.R., she exclaimed, “Who couldn’t love that face?”

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at