Search Menu

On Wednesday, February 28, the New Jersey communities of Red Bank and Kenilworth are both expected to consider substantively similar ordinances that will restrict pet stores to selling only dogs sourced from shelters and rescues.  The similarity of these proposals reflect a radical agenda aimed at limiting the purposeful breeding of dogs through restricting consumer choice throughout New Jersey.

The American Kennel Club emphatically supports freedom of choice in selecting a pet. We actively promote efforts to ensure that people are educated, understand the demands of responsible ownership and have the option to choose a purpose-bred pet that is right for them. AKC strongly opposes any measure that restricts responsible choice by compelling people and/or retailers to obtain pets solely from shelter or rescue distributors.

The Red Bank and Kenilworth proposals are contrary to these principles.  They prohibit pet shops from offering to sell dogs or cats unless they were sourced from, or are displayed in cooperation with, animal care facilities (i.e., shelters and rescues).  Under current New Jersey law, dogs sold by pet stores have substantiated backgrounds and must be subject to care and conditions standards.  Should either ordinance be enacted, consumers in those communities will be denied those benefits.  These ordinances also do not require shelters, pounds, or rescues to work with pet stores, thereby jeopardizing the existence of targeted small businesses.

Click here to read Why Pet Shop Laws Affect You.

WHAT YOU CAN DO:
The AKC encourages all concerned New Jersey residents to contact the councilmembers in each community and urge them to not approve these ordinances.

Red Bank, NJ, Officials:

Mayor Pasquale Menna – pmenna@redbanknj.org
Councilwoman Kathleen Horgan – khorgan@redbanknj.org
Councilman Edward Zipprich – ezipprich@redbanknj.org
Councilman Mark Taylor – mtaylor@redbanknj.org
Councilman Michael Whelan – mwhelan@redbanknj.org
Councilman Erik Yngstrom – eyngstrom@redbanknj.org
Councilman Michael Ballard – mballard@redbanknj.org

Kenilworth, NJ, Officials:

Mayor Anthony P. DeLuca – a.deluca@kenilworthnj.org
Councilwoman Kay Ceceri – k.ceceri@kenilworthnj.org
Councilman Lawrence Clementi – L.clementi@kenilworthnj.org
Councilman Robert Schielke – r.schielke@kenilworthnj.org
Councilman Gerard “Gerry” Laudati – g.laudati@kenilworthnj.org
Councilwoman Linda Karlovitch – L.Karlovitch@kenilworthnj.org
Councilman Mark David – m.david@kenilworthnj.org

For more information on these or other proposals in New Jersey, contact AKC’s Government Relations Department at doglaw@akc.org

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you