Search Menu

January 15, 2019

North Dakota House Bill 1259, which is scheduled for consideration by the House Judiciary Committee on Wednesday, January 16, would make it an infraction (maximum fine $100) to knowingly make a false claim that a pet is a service animal in an attempt to gain admission to a public place or obtain a reasonable housing accommodation.

The AKC strongly  condemns those who characterize dogs as service animals when they are not, or who attempt to benefit from a dog’s service dog status when the individual using the dog is not a person with a disability.

For more information, read UPDATED – Misuse of Service Dogs Hurts the Disabled and Responsible Dog Owners.

WHAT YOU CAN DO:
The AKC encourages all concerned dog owners in North Dakota to contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee, listed below, and express support of this legislation.

Representative Kim Koppelman, Chairman
Phone: 701-492-7317
Fax: 701-282-9267
Email: kkoppelman@nd.gov

Representative Karen Karls, Vice Chairman
Phone: 701-258-6836
Email: kkarls@nd.gov

Representative Rick Becker
Phone: 701-527-6902
Email: rcbecker@nd.gov

Representative Ruth Buffalo
Phone: 701-491-8175
Email: rbuffalo@nd.gov

Representative Karla Rose Hanson
Phone: 701-793-9181
Email: krhanson@nd.gov

Representative Terry B. Jones
Phone: 307-272-1915
Fax: 307-762-3512
Email: tbjones@nd.gov

Representative Jeffery J. Magrum
Phone: 701-782-4111
Email: jmagrum@nd.gov

Representative Aaron McWilliams
Phone:  701-430-9004
Email: amcwilliams@nd.gov

Representative Bob Paulson
Phone: 701-833-4752
Email: bpaulson@nd.gov

Representative Gary Paur
Phone: 218-791-0491
Email: gpaur@nd.gov

Representative Shannon Roers Jones
Phone:  701-356-5050
Email: sroersjones@nd.gov

Representative Bernie Satrom
Phone: 701-252-4058
Fax: 701-252-4065
Email: blsatrom@nd.gov

Representative Luke Simons
Phone: 701-483-0013
Email: lsimons@nd.gov

Representative Steve Vetter
Phone: 701-280-1400
Fax: 701-280-1461
Email: smvetter@nd.gov

For more information on HB 1259 or other North Dakota legislation, contact AKC’s Government Relations Department at doglaw@akc.org.

 

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you