Search Menu

The Ohio House of Representatives Infrastructure, Homeland Security, and Veterans Affairs Committee will consider House Bill 366 tomorrow, Wednesday, January 9th, at 2:30PM, in Room 114 at the State Capitol in Columbus.  Sponsored by Representative Webster, the bill proposes to remove the current breed specific language from the definition of vicious dogs in state law.  The American Kennel Club encourages all Ohio dog owners to attend the committee hearing, or to e-mail or fax the committee members, in support of this sound legislation.

The American Kennel Club supports reasonable, enforceable, non-discriminatory laws to govern the ownership of dogs. We support laws that: establish a fair process by which specific dogs are identified as “dangerous” based on stated, measurable actions; impose appropriate penalties on irresponsible owners; and establish a well-defined method for dealing with dogs proven to be dangerous. The AKC strongly opposes any legislation that determines a dog to be “dangerous” based on specific breed or phenotypic classes of dogs.

This legislation will remove “pit bulls” from state law, while allowing the adoption of local ordinances or resolutions that would define “dangerous dogs” more broadly.


Contact the members of the Ohio House Committee on Infrastructure, Homeland Security, and Veterans Affairs. Tell them that you support this fair legislation.

Representative Steve Reinhard, Chairman
77 S. High Street
12th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-6111
(614) 644-6265
(614) 719-6982 FAX

Representative Danny R. Bubp, Vice-Chairman
(614) 644-6034
(614) 719-6988 FAX

Representative Jim Aslanides
(614) 644-6014
(614) 719-6994 FAX

Representative Courtney Eric Combs
(614) 644-6721
(614) 719-6954 FAX

Representative Diana M. Fessler
(614) 466-8114
(614) 719-3979 FAX

Representative Lynn R. Wachtmann
(614) 466-3760
(614) 719-3975 FAX

Representative John J. White
(614) 466-6504
(614) 719-6966 FAX

Representative John Widowfield
(614) 466-1177
(614) 719-6942

Representative Allan R. Sayre, Ranking Minority Member
(614) 466-8035
(614) 719-6996 FAX

Representative John Domenick
(614) 466-3735
(614) 719-6995 FAX

Representative William J. Healy, II
(614) 466-8030
(614) 719-6952 FAX

Representative Dale Mallory
(614) 466-1645
(614) 719-3586 FAX

Representative Eugene R. Miller
(614) 466-7954
(614) 719-0010 FAX

Representative Robert J. Otterman
(614) 644-6037
(614) 719-6945 FAX

Representative Peter S. Ujvagi
(614) 644-6017
(614) 719-6947 FAX

For more information, contact AKC's Canine Legislation Department at (919) 816-3503 or e-mail

The Ohio House of Representatives Infrastructure, Homeland Security, and Veterans Affairs Committee…