Search Menu

Friday, April 05, 2019

The Borough of Madison, New Jersey, is expected to consider a proposal, Ordinance 11-2019, that would restrict pet shops and their owners, and kennels and their operators to breeding and selling dogs and cats sourced only from licensed animal shelters and rescue organizations.

The proposal uses the state definition of “kennel”, which is described as any establishment wherein or whereon the business of boarding and/or breeding dogs or cats for sale is carried on, except a pet shop.    As currently drafted, the proposal will also “grandfather” currently existing uses that the proposal would otherwise prohibit.

The American Kennel Club® emphatically supports freedom of choice in selecting a pet. AKC® actively promotes efforts to ensure that people are educated, understand the demands of responsible ownership and have access to a pet that is right for them. AKC strongly opposes any measure, including Madison’s, that restricts choice by compelling people and/or retailers to obtain pets solely from shelter or rescue distributors.

The Madison Borough Council is scheduled to consider this proposal on Monday, April 8, at 7PM, at the HDM Borough Council Chambers, 50 Kings Road, Madison, NJ 07940.

WHAT YOU CAN DO:  Concerned New Jersey residents are strongly encouraged to express opposition to the proposed restriction on consumer choice.

Mayor Robert Conley
mayor@rosenet.org

Council President Astri Baillie
BaillieA@RoseNet.org

Council Member Carmela Vitale
VitaleC@RoseNet.org

Council Member Patrick Rowe
rowep@rosenet.org

Council Member Maureen Byrne
ByrneM@RoseNet.org

Council Member John Hoover
hooverj@rosenet.org

Council Member Debra Coen
CoenD@rosenet.org

Borough Clerk Elizabeth Osborne
OsborneE@rosenet.org

For more information, contact AKC Government Relations at (919) 816-3720 or email doglaw@akc.org.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you