Search Menu

Legislative Alerts

NC Update: Bad Breeder Bill Will Be Heard on Thursday, 7/1

The House Finance Committee will consider Senate Bill 460 on Thursday, July 1, at 8:30 AM.  So far, your emails and phone calls have made a huge difference. Please keep up the great work! We need to continue to remind members of the H. Finance Committee that responsible dog owners oppose S460.

Please consider attending Thursday’s hearing to show your opposition to the bill. The hearing is not likely to take more than an hour. Business attire or show clothes are appropriate for the hearing. While attendees will not be able to speak, numbers matter. The committee members will see how many took the time to come to the hearing to express opposition to this bill as currently written.

If you are unable to attend, please take a few minutes to contact the members of the committee and respectfully ask them to oppose Senate Bill 460.  Scroll down for details on the hearing and contact information for the committee.

Click here to read the AKC’s previous Legislative Alert, which outlines our four primary concerns with the bill.

How You Can Help:

  • Attend the House Finance Committee meeting on Thursday, July 1.  The details are as follows:

    Date: Thursday, July 1, 2010
    Time: 8:30 AM
    Location: Room 544, Legislative Office Building, 300 N. Salisbury St., Raleigh, 27603
    Click here for directions to the Legislative Building.  Click the “View Map of Downtown” link at the top of the page for a parking map.
     

  • If you are unable to attend, call and e-mail the members of the House Finance Committee and respectfully ask them to oppose Senate Bill 460 as currently written. If you e-mail, please also call the legislators. Even if you have already contacted the Finance Committee, please send them one more reminder

    The contact information is as follows:

    Click here for a sample phone script

    Click here for a sample e-mail

    Representative Paul Luebke (Senior Chairman)
    Phone: 919-733-7663
    E-mail: Paul.Luebke@ncleg.net

    Representative Pryor Gibson (Chairman)
    Phone: 919-715-3007
    E-mail: Pryor.Gibson@ncleg.net

    Representative William L. Wainwright (Chairman)
    Phone: 919-733-5995
    E-mail: William.Wainwright@ncleg.net

    Representative Jennifer Weiss (Chairman)
    Phone: 919-715-3010
    E-mail: Jennifer.Weiss@ncleg.net

    Representative Dewey Hill (Vice Chairman)
    Phone: 919-733-5830
    E-mail: Dewey.Hill@ncleg.net

    Representative Hugh Holliman (Vice Chairman)
    Phone: 919-715-0873
    E-mail: Hugh.Holliman@ncleg.net

    Representative Julia Howard (Vice Chairman)
    Phone: 919-733-5904
    E-mail: Julia.Howard@ncleg.net

    Representative Daniel McComas (Vice Chairman)
    Phone: 919-733-5786
    E-mail: Danny.McComas@ncleg.net

    Representative Larry Womble (Vice Chairman)
    Phone: 919-733-5777
    E-mail: Larry.Womble@ncleg.net

    Representative Kelly M. Alexander, Jr.
    Phone: 919-733-5778
    E-mail: Kelly.Alexander@ncleg.net

    Representative Curtis Blackwood
    Phone: 919-733-2406
    E-mail: Curtis.Blackwood@ncleg.net

    Representative John Blust
    Phone: 919-733-5781
    E-mail: John.Blust@ncleg.net

    Representative R. Van Braxton
    Phone: 919-715-3017
    E-mail: Van.Braxton@ncleg.net

    Representative Becky Carney
    Phone: 919-733-5827
    E-mail: Becky.Carney@ncleg.net

    Representative Tricia Ann Cotham
    Phone: 919-715-0706
    E-mail: Tricia.Cotham@ncleg.net

    Representative Bill Faison
    Phone: 919-715-3019
    E-mail: Bill.Faison@ncleg.net

    Representative Dale Folwell
    Phone: 919-733-5787
    E-mail: Dale.Folwell@ncleg.net

    Representative Larry Hall
    Phone: 919-733-5872
    E-mail: Larry.Hall@ncleg.net

    Representative Sandra Spaulding Hughes
    Phone: 919-733-5754
    E-mail: Sandra.Hughes@ncleg.net

    Representative Earl Jones
    Phone: 919-733-5825
    E-mail: Earl.Jones@ncleg.net

    Representative David Lewis
    Phone: 919-715-3015
    E-mail: David.Lewis@ncleg.net

    Representative Darrell McCormick
    Phone: 919-733-5654
    E-mail: Darrell.McCormick@ncleg.net

    Representative William McGee
    Phone: 919-733-5747
    E-mail: William.McGee@ncleg.net

    Representative Bill Owens
    Phone: 919-733-0010
    E-mail: Bill.Owens@ncleg.net

    Representative Johnathan Rhyne
    Phone: 919-733-5782
    E-mail: Johnathan.Rhyne@ncleg.net

    Representative Deborah Ross
    Phone: 919-733-5773
    E-mail: Deborah.Ross@ncleg.net

    Representative Mitchell Setzer
    Phone: 919-733-4948
    E-mail: Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.net

    Representative Paul Stam
    Phone: 919-733-2962
    E-mail: Paul.Stam@ncleg.net

    Representative Edgar Starnes
    Phone: 919-733-5931
    E-mail: Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net

    Representative Thom Tillis
    Phone: 919-733-5828
    E-mail: Thom.Tillis@ncleg.net

For additional information, contact the AKC’s Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org or visit our website (www.akc.org/canine_legislation).

The House Finance Committee will consider Senate Bill 460 on Thursday, July 1, at 8:30 AM.  So…