Search Menu

The Montana House Agriculture Committee is scheduled to consider House Bill 179 on January 27, 2015 at 3:00 p.m. This bill would make it illegal for a humane shelter or its employees to engage in activities at an animal facility without the owner’s consent. It would not apply to the lawful activities of a government agency or its employees carrying out their duties under law. The measure would become effective immediately upon passage.

To express support for this bill, dog owners, breeders, exhibitors and sportsmen are encouraged to:

Attend the House Agriculture Committee hearing and indicate your support of HB 179 as currently written.

Hearing Date: Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: Room 137, State Capitol, 1301 East 6th Avenue, Helena, MT 59601

Contact members of the House Agriculture Committee and state your support for HB 179 as currently written.

To send a message to every member of the House Agriculture Committee via an online messaging form, click here, then:

  • Enter your information
  • Click the button for “Committee”
  • Select House Agriculture from the “Choose a Committee” drop-down box
  • Select HB from the “Select the Bill Type” drop-down box
  • Type 179 in the “Enter the Number of the Bill” box
  • Click on your position under “Vote.” You may also type in a personalized message to the committee members.

You can also leave messages for legislators or acquire general legislative information by calling the Information Desk at (406) 444-4800. Callers may leave messages for up to 5 individual legislators or 1 legislative committee per call.

House Agriculture Committee Members:

Rep. Alan Redfield, Chair
Rep. Christy Clark, Vice Chair
Rep. Margaret (Margie) MacDonald, Vice Chair
Rep. Seth Berglee
Rep. Willis Curdy
Rep. Bill Harris
Rep. Greg Hertz
Rep. Jessica Karjala
Rep. Mike Lang
Rep. Theresa Manzella
Rep. Wendy McKamey
Rep. Matthew Monforton
Rep. Dale Mortensen
Rep. Andrea Olsen
Rep. Albert Olszewski
Rep. Carolyn Pease-Lopez
Rep. Zac Perry
Rep. Gordon Pierson
Rep. Daniel R. Salomon
Rep. Scott Staffanson
Rep. Susan Webber
Rep. Kathleen Williams

For questions or more information, please contact AKC Government Relations at or 919-816-3720.