Search Menu

The Missouri Senate Local Government Committee is scheduled to consider a bill on Wednesday, February 24, that would prohibit any county or municipality (including those under home rule) from controlling or regulating specific breeds of dogs.  Senate Bill 107 would also make any existing breed-specific law in the state null and void.

Counties and municipalities may regulate dogs, including at-large and vicious dogs, so long as the laws are not breed-specific.

The AKC strongly supports Senate Bill 107, which protects the rights of dog owners while still allowing communities to enact laws that hold all owners accountable and ensure public safety.

Visit the Breed-Specific/Dangerous Dog Laws page in the AKC Legislative Action Center for more talking points on this issue.

Those who reside or participate in dog events in the state are encouraged to contact the committee members and express your support for this bill.  Let them know if you participate in dog events in the state or own a breed that is often targeted in legislation.  If you are a constituent of one of the members of the committee, use the form provided and let them know you are constituent.

All others, use the email addresses provided to reach the committee members:

Sandy Crawford, Chair – Sponsor of SB 107 (Benton, Cedar, Dallas, Hickory, Laclede, Pettis, Polk, and St. Clair Counties)
sandy.crawford@senate.mo.gov

Lincoln Hough, Vice Chair (Greene County)
Lincoln.hough@senate.mo.gov

Jason Bean (Butler, Carter, Dunklin, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Shannon, and Stoddard Counties)
Jason.bean@senate.mo.gov

Rick Brattin (Barton, Bates, Cass, Henry and Vernon Counties)
rick.brattin@senate.mo.gov

Dan Hegeman (Andrew, Atchison, Clinton, Daviess, Dekalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Mercer, Nodaway, Putnam, Sullivan, Worth, and Clay Counties)
dan.hegeman@senate.mo.gov

Angela Mosley (St. Louis County)
angela.mosley@senate.mo.gov

Greg Razer (Jackson County)
greg.razer@senate.mo.gov

AKC Government Relations and the Missouri Federation of Animal Owners (MoFed) continue to closely monitor these and all legislative bills in Missouri impacting dog owners.  For more information, contact AKC GR at doglaw@akc.org or MoFed at kjeeper@gmail.com.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you