Search Menu

A Missouri committee is considering a bill on Monday, March 29 that would significantly broaden the definition of a “dangerous dog” in the state.

The state currently defines a dangerous dog as one that has bitten a person or domestic animal without provocation on more than one occasion.  House Bill 992 would expand this definition to include a dog that causes any physical injury resulting in “slight impairment” of any part of the body.

AKC strongly believes that all dog owners should be responsible for their animals, including proper training and control to ensure appropriate behavior and safety.  However, as written, this expanded definition could result in a dog being declared dangerous for innocent actions.  Concerns have also been raised that this definition could be abused in situations of neighbor disputes.

What You Can Do:

Missouri residents concerned about this bill are encouraged to contact the House Crime Prevention Committee prior to the hearing on Monday, March 29 at 12:00 pm:

Lane Roberts, Chair
573-751-3791
Lane.Roberts@house.mo.gov

Barry Hovis, Vice-Chair
573-751-6662
Barry.Hovis@house.mo.gov

Robert Sauls, Ranking Minority Member
573-751-5701
Robert.Sauls@house.mo.gov

Rasheen Aldridge
573-751-2383
Rasheen.Aldridge@house.mo.gov

Ron Copeland
573-751-2264
Ron.Copeland@house.mo.gov

Michael Davis
573-751-2175

Michael.Davis@house.mo.gov

Ann Kelley
573-751-2165
Ann.Kelley@house.mo.gov

Brian Seitz
573-751-1309
Brian.Seitz@house.mo.gov

Mark Sharp
573-751-9469
Mark.Sharp@house.mo.gov

Richard West
573-751-1460
Richard.West@house.mo.gov

AKC Government Relations and the Missouri Federation of Animal Owners continue to monitor legislative issues relating to dog owners in Missouri.  For more information, contact AKC GR at doglaw@akc.org.

https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you