Search Menu

The Senate Commerce Committee has just scheduled a hearing on SF 502 for TOMORROW (February 18).  This bill would further regulate anyone who has four or more intact dogs and receive any kind of consideration for breeding or transferring even one dog. 

Friday is the last day for bills to be passed out of committee, so it is essential that the committee hear from you NOW.  Respectfully let them know that you do not want SF 502 to advance this year.

Talking Points:

SF 502 would create extensive license fees, mandate inspections, and even prohibit breeders from being involved in certain rescue activities.  Read AKC’s previous legislative alert for more detailed information and talking points on this bill, as well as a sample phone script.

What You Can Do:

Attend the Senate Commerce Committee hearing to show that you, as a responsible dog owner and breeder, oppose SF 502.  The details are as follows:

Thursday, February 18, 2016
10:30 am
Iowa State Capitol, Second Floor Room 22 (Click on the link for a map of the State Capitol)

Contact the members of the Senate Commerce Committee. Please let them know if you are a resident of Iowa, and if you are a constituent, be sure to mention that as well.  For additional contact information, click here, then click on their individual names.

Sen. Janet Peterson, Chair (Dist. 18)
janet.petersen@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Matt McCoy, Vice Chair (Dist. 21, Sponsor of SF 502)
matt.mccoy@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Bill Anderson (Dist. 3)
bill.anderson@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Chaz Allen (Dist. 15)
chaz.allen@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Rick Bertrand (Dist. 7)
rick.bertrand@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Joe Bolkcom (Dist. 43)
joe.bolkcom@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Thomas Courtney (Dist. 44)
thomas.courtney@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Liz Mathis (Dist. 34)
liz.mathis@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Charles Schneider (Dist. 22)
charles.schneider@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Brian Schoenjahn (Dist. 32)
brian.schoenjahn@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Dr. Joe M.  Seng (Dist. 45)
joe.seng@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Amy Sinclair (Dist. 14)
amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Roby Smith (Dist. 47)
roby.smith@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Steven Sodders (Dist. 36)
steve.sodders@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Dan Zumbach (Dist. 48)
dan.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov

The Senate Commerce Committee has just scheduled a hearing on SF 502 for TOMORROW (February 18). This bill would further regulate anyone who has four or more intact dogs and receive any kind of consideration for breeding or transferring even one dog. Friday is the last day for bills to be passed out of committee, so it is essential that the committee hear from you now. Respectfully let them know that you do not want SF 502 to advance this year

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you