Search Menu

Tomorrow  (Wednesday, January 13), the Indiana Senate Judiciary Committee will be considering Senate Bill 1, which provides certain liability protections when there has been exposure to the COVID-19 virus.

This new law may be of potential interest to some AKC-affiliated clubs with concerns about conducting their events while under a higher-than-normal exposure to liability risks.

Among other provisions, the bill would protect any “person” (including but not limited to individuals, associations, etc.) from civil liability for damages or injury “resulting from exposure of an individual to coronavirus.”  This includes premises owned or managed by a person, and activities managed, organized, or sponsored by a person.

The exemption would not apply to gross negligence or willful or wanton misconduct, when there is clear and convincing evidence.

What You Can Do:

Contact the Senate Judiciary Committee and ask them to support Senate Bill 1.  Let them know about Indiana dog shows and events that you participate in.  If you are writing on behalf of your club, tell them about your show (including how long it has been held, number of exhibitors, etc.) and your desire to hold shows safely in Indiana.

Committee Contact Information:

Senator Liz Brown, Chair – Senator.Brown@iga.in.gov
Senator Eric Koch – Senator.Koch@iga.in.gov
Senator Mike Bohacek – Senator.Bohacek@iga.in.gov
Senator James Buck – Senator.Buck@iga.in.gov
Senator Aaron Freeman – Senator.Freeman@iga.in.gov
Senator Mike Gaskill – Senator.Gaskill@iga.in.gov
Senator Susan Glick – Senator.Glick@iga.in.gov
Senator Michael Young – Senator.Young@iga.in.gov
Senator Lonnie Randolph – s2@iga.in.gov
Senator Timothy Lanane – s25@iga.in.gov
Senator Greg Taylor – s33@iga.in.gov

AKC Government Relations continues to track bills across the country relating to the issue of COVID-19 liability.  For the latest information on this topic, visit the COVID-19 Liability key issues page in the AKC Legislative Action Center.

To view AKC legislative information and updates relating to COVID-19 and how they are impacting dogs, events, and businesses, visit www.akcgr.org/covid19.

For more information, contact AKC Government Relations at doglaw@akc.org.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you