Search Menu

March 15, 2019

The American Kennel Club (AKC) continues to support North Dakota House Bill 1259, which is scheduled for consideration by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Wednesday, March 20.  The bill would make it an infraction (maximum fine $100) to knowingly make a false claim that a pet is a service animal in an attempt to gain admission to a public place or obtain a reasonable housing accommodation.

The AKC strongly condemns those who characterize dogs as service animals when they are not, or who attempt to benefit from a dog’s service dog status when the individual using the dog is not a person with a disability.

For more information, read UPDATED – Misuse of Service Dogs Hurts the Disabled and Responsible Dog Owners.

WHAT YOU CAN DO:
The AKC encourages all concerned dog owners in North Dakota to contact the members of the Senate Judiciary Committee, listed below, and express support of this legislation.

State Senator Diane Larson, Chair
2525 Larson Road
Bismarck, ND 58504-8926
Phone: 701-400-7218
Email: dklarson@nd.gov

State Senator Michael Dwyer, Vice Chair
1754 Santa Gertrudis Drive
Bismarck, ND 58503-0862
Phone: 701-223-4232
Email: madwyer@nd.gov

State Senator JoNell A. Bakke
1498 Norchip Circle
Grand Forks, ND 58201-3702
Phone: 218-779-3961
Email: jbakke@nd.gov

State Senator Larry Luick
17945 101st Street SE
Fairmount, ND 58030-9522
Phone: 701-474-5959
Email: lluick@nd.gov

State Senator Janne Myrdal
P.O. Box 153
Edinburg, ND 58227-0153
Phone: 701-331-0946
Email: jmyrdal@nd.gov

State Senator Arne Osland
323 Second Avenue NW
Mayville, ND 58257-1132
Phone: 701-436-6155
Email: aosland@nd.gov

For more information on HB 1259 or other North Dakota legislation, contact AKC’s Government Relations Department at doglaw@akc.org.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you