Search Menu

Thursday, April 18, 2019

On Tuesday, April 23, the Board of Aldermen of Town of Dover, New Jersey, is expected to consider a proposal that would restrict pet shops from selling, delivering, offering for sale, bartering, auctioning, giving away, or otherwise transferring dogs or cats.  The proposal, however, does not prohibit stores from collaborating with animal control centers, animal shelters, or rescue groups to offer space to showcase adoptable dogs and cats.

The American Kennel Club (AKC) emphatically supports freedom of choice in selecting a pet. AKC® actively promotes efforts to ensure that people are educated, understand the demands of responsible ownership and have access to a pet that is right for them.  AKC strongly opposes any measure, including Dover’s, that restricts choice by compelling people and/or retailers to obtain pets solely from shelter or rescue distributors.

The Dover Board of Aldermen is scheduled to consider this proposal on Tuesday, April 23, at 7PM, at the Dover Town Hall, 37 N Sussex St, Dover, NJ 07801.

WHAT YOU CAN DO:  Concerned New Jersey residents are strongly encouraged to express opposition to the proposed restriction on consumer choice.

Mayor James P. Dodd
jdodd@dover.nj.us

Alderman William O’Connor – First Ward
woconnor@dover.nj.us

Alderman Sandra Wittner – First Ward
swittner@dover.nj.us

Alderman Cindy Romaine – Second Ward
cromaine@dover.nj.us

Alderman Humberto Quinones – Second Ward
hquinones@dover.nj.us

Alderman James Visioli –Third Ward
jvisioli@dover.nj.us

Alderman Carolyn Blackman – Third Ward
cblackman@dover.nj.us

Alderman Stephen Toth – Fourth Ward
stoth@dover.nj.us

Alderman Carlos Valencia – Fourth Ward
cvalencia@dover.nj.us

For more information, contact AKC Government Relations at (919) 816-3720 or email doglaw@akc.org.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you