Search Menu

A bill is advancing in Colorado that would expand the powers of the state’s Bureau of Animal Protection agents.

Currently, the purpose of the Bureau of Animal Protection as stated on the Department of Agriculture’s website, is to “serve as a support mechanism to local law enforcement agencies in conducting animal cruelty and neglect investigations.”  This includes issuing summons and complaints.  Senate Bill 20-104 would significantly expand their powers and grant agents who have completed training the power to conduct investigations.  Concerns among others that have been raised include who may be appointed as agents and therefore be given these expanded powers.

AKC thanks the Colorado Federation of Dog Clubs for their tireless work this year at the Colorado General Assembly, including continuing to work with the sponsor to address concerns with this bill.

Senate Bill 20-104 has passed the Senate Local Government Committee and is currently pending in the Senate Appropriations Committee.  While the AKC and the Colorado Federation of Dog Clubs understand that amendments may be forthcoming, we encourage you to contact the Senate Appropriations Committee to express any comments and concerns you may have:

Senator Rachel Zenzinger, Chair
Phone: 303-866-4840
Email: senatorrachelz@gmail.com

Senator Dominick Moreno, Vice Chair
Phone: 303-866-4857
Email: dominick.moreno.senate@state.co.us

Senator Mike Foote
Phone: 303-866-5291
Email: mike.foote.senate@state.co.us

Senator Bob Gardner
Phone: 303-866-4880
Email: bob.gardner.senate@state.co.us

Senator Julie Gonzales
Phone: 303-866-4862
Email: julie.gonzales.senate@state.co.us

Senator Chris Hansen
Phone: 303-866-4861
Email: chris.hansen.senate@state.co.us

Senator Dennis Hisey
Phone: 303-866-4877
Email: dennis.hisey.senate@state.co.us

Senator Bob Rankin
Phone: 303-866-5292
Email: bob.rankin.senate@state.co.us

Senator Robert Rodriguez
Phone: 303-866-4852
Email: robert.rodriguez.senate@state.co.us

Senator Rob Woodward
Phone: 303-866-4853
Email: rob.woodward.senate@state.co.us

AKC will continue to provide information as it becomes available.  For more information, contact the Colorado Federation of Dog Clubs at kharahs@yahoo.com or 303-842-1033, or AKC Government Relations at doglaw@akc.org.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you