Search Menu

Senate Bill 945, which will establish standards of care for pet boarding facilities, has been amended again.

Affected handlers, kennels and responsible dog owners and breeders who will be impacted should contact the author with concerns prior to the April 4th hearing.  You may read the amended language here.

Senator Bill Monning  (Author, SB 945)
Email: Senator.Monning@senate.ca.gov
Phone: 916-651-4017

Senate Business and Professions Committee Hearing (Scroll down for committee contact information)
Date: Monday, April 4th, 2016
Time: 1:00 p.m.
Location: State Capitol, Room 3191

The amended version of the bill defines a pet boarding facility as “any lot, building, structure, enclosure or other premises whereupon four or more dogs, cats or other pets in any combination are boarded for compensation”  (This returns the threshold to four as was stipulated in the introduced version). The measure now specifically exempts city and county facilities as well as those who contract with these governmental entities.

The March 29th amendments remove some of the engineering requirements related to the primary enclosure and adjust the time periods the animal may be in primary and temporary enclosures.  

They add a provision which prohibits anyone who has been “convicted of an infraction, misdemeanor, or felony related to the welfare of animals, including, but not limited to, a violation of Section 597 of the Penal Code”  from operating a pet boarding facility or from being employed as an employee of a pet boarding facility.” It is unclear if minor infractions of local animal codes such as violations of noise ordinances or leash laws could cause someone to be excluded from employment at or ownership of a pet boarding facility.

If you have questions, concerns or suggestions regarding this legislation, please contact Senator Monning’s office.  You may also want to forward this information to the facility where you board your dogs.

Senator Bill Monning  (Author, SB 945)
Email: Senator.Monning@senate.ca.gov
Phone: 916-651-4017

Senate Business and Professions Committee Members

Senator Jerry Hill, Chair
Senator.hill@senate.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-4013
Fax: (916) 651-4913

Senator Patricia Bates, Vice-Chair
Senator.Bates@senate.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-4036
Fax: (916) 651-4936

Senator Tom Berryhill
senator.berryhill@senate.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-4008
Fax: (916) 327-2186

Senator Marty Block
senator.block@senate.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-4039
Fax: (916) 327-2188

Senator Cathleen Galgiani
senator.galgiani@senate.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-4005
Fax: (916) 323-2277

Senator Ed Hernandez
senator.hernandez@senate.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-4022
Fax: (916) 327-8817

Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson
senator.jackson@senate.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-4019
Fax: (916) 324-7544

Senator Tony Mendoza
senator.mendoza@senate.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-4032
Fax: (916) 651-4932

Senator Bob Wieckowski
senator.wieckowski@senate.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-4010
Fax: (916) 651-4910

If you have any additional questions, please contact the AKC GR department at doglaw@akc.org or 919-816-3720.  

Senate Bill 945, which will establish standards of care for pet boarding facilities, has been amended again.

Affected handlers, kennels and responsible dog owners and breeders who will be impacted should contact the author with concerns prior to the April 4th hearing.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you