Search Menu

March 30, 2015

A bill is scheduled for a hearing TOMORROW (Tuesday, March 31) in the North Carolina Senate State and Local Government Committee that would allow Raleigh law enforcement and peace officers to adopt the animals they worked with or handled during the animal’s service.  A companion House measure (HB 199) has passed committee and will likely be considered by the full House of Representatives soon.

The American Kennel Club supports House Bill 199 and Senate Bill 247, which will ensure the lifelong care of these animals that, along with their handlers, provide invaluable services to Raleigh by allowing the city council donate the animal to the officer or employee who had custody and control of it during its service.  This allows the handler to continue to ensure the animal’s care and wellbeing, as well as allows for the continued companionship and trust that is built between a handler and dog while serving the community.

AKC encourages North Carolina residents to contact the legislature and take the following actions on these bills:

House Bill 199 – This bill has passed committee and will soon be considered by the full House of Representatives.  To find the name and contact information for your State Representative, visit the General Assembly’s “Who Represents Me?” page, and enter your address next to the North Carolina House of Representatives map. 

Senate Bill 247 – This bill is scheduled for a hearing in the Senate State and Local Government Committee tomorrow (Tuesday, March 31).  Please contact the members of the committee and express your support for this bill:

Sen. Jim Davis (Co-Chairman)
Phone: (919) 733-5875
E-mail: Jim.Davis@ncleg.net

Sen. Norman Sanderson (Co-Chairman)
Phone: (919) 733-5706
E-mail: Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net

Sen. Trudy Wade (Vice Chair)
Phone: (919) 733-5856
E-mail: Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net

Sen. John Alexander, Jr.
Phone: (919) 733-5850
E-mail: John.Alexander@ncleg.net

Sen. Tamara Barringer
Phone: (919) 733-5653
E-mail: Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net

Sen. David Curtis
Phone: (919) 715-3038
E-mail: David.Curtis@ncleg.net

Sen. Don Davis
Phone: (919) 715-8363
E-mail: Don.Davis@ncleg.net

Sen. Valerie Foushee
Phone: (919) 733-5804
E-mail: Valerie.Foushee@ncleg.net

Sen. Fletcher Hartsell, Jr.
Phone: (919) 733-7223
E-mail: Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net

Sen. Brent Jackson
Phone: (919) 733-5705
E-mail: Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net

Sen. Louis Pate
Phone: (919) 733-5621
E-mail: Louis.Pate@ncleg.net

Sen. Ronald Rabin
Phone: (919) 733-5748
E-mail: Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net

Sen. Jane Smith
Phone: (919) 733-5651
E-mail: Jane.Smith@ncleg.net

Sen. Jeff Tarte
Phone: (919) 715-3050
E-mail: Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net

Sen. Terry Van Duyn
Phone: (919) 715-3001
E-mail: Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net

Sen. Joyce Waddell
Phone: (919) 733-5650
E-mail: Joyce.Waddell@ncleg.net

AKC Government Relations will continue to monitor these bills and provide more information as it becomes available. For more information, contact AKC GR at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you