Search Menu

The 2020 AKC National Championship Presented by Royal Canin on Dec. 12 and 13 hosted 3,680 dogs who all competed for the coveted title of Best in Show. The competition began with each dog competing for best in their breed.

Best in Group

Best of Breed winners then advanced to compete in the group competitions. Each AKC-recognized breed falls into one of seven group classifications:

  • Sporting — These dogs were bred to hunt game birds both on land and in the water. The breeds in this group include Pointers, Retrievers, Setters, and Spaniels.
  • Hound — These breeds were bred for hunting other game by sight or scent. These breeds include such dogs as Beagles, Basset Hounds, Dachshunds, and Greyhounds.
  • Working — These dogs were bred to pull carts, guard property, and perform search and rescue services. Among the breeds in this group are the Akita, Boxer, Doberman Pinscher, and St. Bernard.
  • Terrier — This group includes breeds such as the Airedale, Cairn Terrier, and Scottish Terrier. Terriers were bred to rid property of vermin such as rats.
  • Toy — These dogs were bred to be household companions. This group includes little dogs such as the Chihuahua, Maltese, Pomeranian, and Pug.
  • Non-Sporting — This diverse group includes the Chow Chow, Bulldog, Dalmatian, and Poodle. These dogs vary in size and function, and many are considered companion dogs.
  • Herding — These dogs were bred to help shepherds and ranchers herd their livestock. The Briard, Collie, German Shepherd Dog, and Old English Sheepdog are some of the breeds in this group.

The Group Winners of the 2020 AKC National Championship

The Sporting Group

The winner of the Sporting Group was Lagotto Romagnolo CH Kan Trace Very Cheeky Chic, owned by Sabina Sinkovic Zdunic & Ante Lucin and bred by Sabina Zdunic Sinkovic/Kalecak Zdunic Sinkovic.

Group Placements
1st Place Lagotto Romagnolo CH Kan Trace Very Cheeky Chic
2nd Place Cocker Spaniel ASCOB GCHG CH Foley’s Frat Party CGC
3rd Place Irish Setter GCH CH Vermilion’s Sex, Lies, And Serious Money
4th Place Flat-Coated Retriever GCHG CH Artic Sun’s Pursuing The Dream JH

The Hound Group

The winner of the Hound Group was Whippet GCHP CH Pinnacle Kentucky Bourbon, bred by Justin C Smithey/Yvonne Sovereign and owned by Justin Smithey, K Latimer, J Descutner, Shaw, and Smithey.

1st Place Whippet GCHP CH Pinnacle Kentucky Bourbon
2nd Place Scottish Deerhound GCH CH Foxcliffe Claire Randall Fraser
3rd Place Saluki GCHG CH Aurora’s Rhythm Of My Heart
4th Place Borzoi GCHS CH Majenkir Bookstor Spellbinder

The Working Group

The winner of the Working Group was Boxer GCHP2 CH Cinnibon’s Bedrock Bombshell, bred by Bonnie Wagaman/Nicole Manna and owned by Keith & Cheryl Robbins & B Wagaman & D Caywood.

1st Place Boxer GCHP2 CH Cinnibon’s Bedrock Bombshell
2nd Place Samoyed GCHG CH Vanderbilt ‘N Printemp’s Lucky Strike
3rd Place Alaskan Malamute GCHG CH Onak’Stouch Of Gold
4th Place Newfoundland GCHB CH Pouch Cove’s Alright Alright Alright

The Terrier Group

The winner of the Terrier Group was Welsh Terrier GCHG CH Brightluck Money Talks, bred by Janet McBrien and owned by Keith Bailey & Janet McBrien.

1st Place Welsh Terrier GCHG CH Brightluck Money Talks
2nd Place Lakeland Terrier GCHS CH Ellenside Red Ike At Eskwyre
3rd Place Dandie Dinmont Terrier GCH CH King’s Mtn. Henry Higgins
4th Place Standard Manchester Terrier GCHS CH Cashlane’s Witch Of Blackbird Pond

The Toy Group

The winner of the Toy Group was Pekingese GCHS CH Pequest Wasabi, bred by David Fitzpatrick, and owned by D Fitzpatrick S Middlebrooks & I Love & P Steinman.

1st Place Pekingese GCHS CH Pequest Wasabi
2nd Place Papillon GCHG CH Valifyre Freespirit Icy Sparks
3rd Place Pug GCHP CH Nirvana’s Skittles
4th Place Yorkshire Terrier GCHG CH Karma Hekan Mini Cooper

The Non-Sporting Group

The winner of the Non-Sporting Group was Standard Poodle GCHB CH Hightide Tarquin Venus, bred by Christian Manelopoulos/Rachel Corbin/Ann Galloway and owned by Missy Ann Galloway & R Corbin & C Manelpoulos.

1st Place Standard Poodle GCHB CH Hightide Tarquin Venus
2nd Place Tibetan Terrier GCHG CH Barnstorm Blue Blood Royalty By Dzine
3rd Place Dalmatian GCHP CH Bret D N Adventureland Star Coach
4th Place Schipperke GCHB CH Delamer Suzi Sells Sushi On The Boardwalk

The Herding Group

The winner of the Herding Group was Australian Shepherd GCHS CH Stonehaven Bayshore Secret Sauce.

1st Place Australian Shepherd GCHS CH Stonehaven Bayshore Secret Sauce
2nd Place Bearded Collie GCHG CH Scott’s Lady Liberty
3rd Place Old English Sheepdog GCH CH Bugaboo’s Courage Of Conviction
4th Place Cardigan Welsh Corgi GCHS CH Xiv Karat Come Hel Or High Water

AKC National Championship Best in Show

After winning Best in Group, the seven winning dogs go on to compete in Best in Show. Winning Best in Show at the AKC National Championship is one of the highest honors in the sport and comes with a $50,000 prize.

You can find out which of the seven Best in Group dogs went on to win Best in Show by tuning into ABC on Jan. 17, 2020, at 2 p.m. ET.

Related article: Four Teens Earn Top Honors in 2020 AKC Junior Showmanship Finals
Get Your Free AKC eBook

10 Essential Skills: Canine Good Citizen Test Items

Whether you are planning on getting your dog CGC certified or just looking to learn more about the test this e-book is a great place to start.
*Turn off pop-up blocker to download
*Turn off pop-up blocker to download