Texas Committee to Consider Dangerous Dog Bill Tomorrow

Texas House Bill 1355, authored by Representative Gattis, will be considered by the House County...

Texas House Bill 1355, authored by Representative Gattis, will be considered by the House County Affairs Committee, 2PM Wednesday, April 4, at the Capitol in Austin, Room E2.016.

AKC’s Texas federation, the Responsible Pet Owners Alliance, has serious concerns about this bill, especially regarding the provision that a first-time offense would be considered a felony rather than a misdemeanor.  The RPOA urges all concerned Texas dog owners to voice their opinions concerning the bill, and encourages all Austin-area owners to attend the committee hearing. 

For more information about the bill, please contact the Responsible Pet Owners Alliance at rpoa@texas.net.   


WHAT YOU CAN DO:

Contact the members of the Texas House County Affairs Committee to voice your opinion concerning HB 1355. 


Chair: Rep. Wayne Smith
Ph: (512) 463-0733
Fax: (512) 463-1323
Toll free:  (866) 423-5987
E-mail: wayne.smith@house.state.tx.us


Vice-Chair: Rep. Elliott Naishtat
Ph: (512) 463-0668
Fax: (512) 463-8022
E-mail: elliott.naishtat@house.state.tx.us


Rep. Valinda Bolton
Ph: (512) 463-0652
Fax: (512) 463-0565
E-mail: valinda.bolton@house.state.tx.us


Rep. Garnet Coleman
Ph:  (512) 463-0524
Fax:  (512) 463-1260
E-mail: Ryan.james@house.state.tx.us


Rep. David Farabee
Ph: (512) 463-0534
Fax: (512) 463-8161
E-mail: david.farabee@house.state.tx.us


Rep. Patricia Harless
Ph:  (512) 463-0496
Fax: (512) 463-1507
E-mail: patricia.harless@house.state.tx.us


Rep. Joe Heflin
Ph: (512) 463-0604
Fax: (512) 236-0704
E-mail: joe.heflin@house.state.tx.us


Rep. David Leibowitz
Ph:  (512) 463-0269
Fax:  (512) 320-0555
E-mail: david.leibowitz@house.state.tx.us


Rep. Todd Smith
Ph:  (512) 4630522
Fax:  (512) 463-9529
E-mail: todd.smith@house.state.tx.us


COMMITTEE CLERK:  Travis Sampley
PHONE:  (512) 463-0760


Bill author:  Representative Dan Gattis, PO Box 2910, Austin, TX 78768
Phone:  (512) 463-0309; Fax:  (512)-499-8354;
E-mail: dan.gattis@house.state.tx.us


Author of Companion Bill:  Senate Bill 411 Senator Eliot Shapleigh PO Box 12068, Capitol Station, Austin, Texas 78711
Phone:  (512) 463-0129, Fax:  (512) 463-0218
E-mail: eliot.shapleigh@senate.state.tx.us