Government Relations

PA: Problematic Animal Seizure Bill Advancing

0 views

House Bill 82, which could be detrimental to the rights of responsible animal owners, has passed the...

House Bill 82, which could be detrimental to the rights of responsible animal owners, has passed the Pennsylvania and is pending in the Senate Judiciary Committee. This measure could force owners to relinquish their animals when they are accused of cruelty, regardless of whether the charges are ultimately dismissed. Read AKC's previous Legislative Alert for more information on House Bill 82.

This bill continues to move very quickly, so responsible dog owners in Pennsylvania are strongly urged to contact the Senate Judiciary Committee AND their State Senator as soon as possible, and ask them to not support House Bill 82 as currently written.

Click here to find the name and contact information for your State Senator. View the full Senate contact list by clicking here.


The Judiciary Committee contact information is as follows:


Senator Stewart J. Greenleaf, Chair
Phone: (717) 787-6599
E-mail: sgreenleaf@pasen.gov


Senator John C. Rafferty, Jr., Vice Chair
Phone: (717) 787-1398
E-mail: jrafferty@pasen.gov


Senator Daylin Leach, Minority Chair
Phone: (717) 787-5544
E-mail: senatorleach@pasenate.com


Senator Joseph B. Scarnati III, ex-officio
Phone: (717) 787-7084
E-mail: jscarnati@pasen.gov


Senator Richard L. Alloway II
Phone: (717) 787-4651
E-mail: alloway@pasen.gov


Senator Lisa M. Boscola
Phone: (717) 787-4236
E-mail: boscola@pasenate.com


Senator John H. Eichelberger, Jr.
Phone: (717) 787-5490
E-mail: jeichelberger@pasen.gov


Senator Lawrence M. Farnese, Jr.
Phone: (717) 787-5662
E-mail form


Senator Wayne D. Fontana
Phone: (717) 787-5300
E-mail: Fontana@pasenate.com


Senator John R. Gordner
Phone: (717) 787-8928
E-mail: jgordner@pasen.gov


Senator Dominic Pileggi
Phone: (717) 787-4712
E-mail form


Senator Michael J. Stack
Phone: (717) 787-9608
E-mail: stack@pasenate.com


Senator Randy Vulakovich
Phone: (717) 787-6538
E-mail form


Senator Gene Yaw
Phone: (717) 787-3280
E-mail: gyaw@pasen.gov

 

AKC Government Relations (AKC GR) will provide updates as they become available. For questions or more information, contact the Pennsylvania Federation of Dog Clubs at pennfedlaw@verizon.net or AKC GR at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.

Comment & Discuss