California Mandatory Spay/Neuter Bill Assigned to Committee - Speak Out Now!

California Assembly Bill 1634, known as the California Healthy Pets Act, was assigned to the...

California Assembly Bill 1634, known as the California Healthy Pets Act, was assigned to the Assembly Business and Professions Committee on Monday, March 26. It seeks to require the mandatory spaying or neutering of all dogs or cats over four months of age, unless the owner acquires an intact animal permit. It is imperative that breeders and concerned dog owners contact their Assemblymember and the committee chairman to express their opposition.

The American Kennel Club strongly supports reasonable and enforceable laws that protect the welfare and health of purebred dogs and do not restrict the rights of breeders and owners who take their responsibilities seriously. We oppose the concept of mandatory spay/neuter provisions as provided by AB 1634, which:

 

  • Makes it a civil violation for any person to possess a dog or cat over four months of age that has not been spayed or neutered.

     

  • Requires owners of unaltered purebred dogs to annually acquire an intact animal permit from their local jurisdiction. The cost of the intact permit would be determined by the locality. Responsible dog owners could be required to pay unreasonable and punitive fees, possibly amounting to hundreds of dollars.

     

  • Does not provide exemptions for dogs temporarily entering California for show, competition, or exhibition.

 

WHAT YOU CAN DO NOW:

 

  • Contact your representative in the California State Assembly. To find your Assemblymember, click here.

     

  • Contact the members of the California Assembly Business and Professions Committee who will consider this bill.

 

Assemblyman Mike Eng, Chair
State Capitol
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0049
(916) 319-2049
Assemblymember.Eng@asm.ca.gov
(When writing to Assemblyman Eng, please forward a copy to the Assembly Business and Professions Committee ATTN: Tracy Rhine, Committee Consultant, 1020 N Street, Room 124, Sacramento, CA 94249. FAX: (916) 319-3306. This will ensure that your opposition is included in the official bill analysis.)

Assemblyman Bill Emmerson, Vice Chair
(916) 319-2063
Assemblymember.emmerson@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblywoman Karen Bass
(916) 319-2047
Assemblymember.Bass@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblywoman Wilmer Amina Carter
(916) 319-2062
Assemblymember.Carter@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblywoman Mary Hayashi
(916) 319-2018
Assemblymember.Hayashi@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblyman Edward P. Hernandez
(916) 319-2057
Assemblymember.Hernandez@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblywoman Shirley Horton
(916) 319-2078
Assemblymember.Shirley.Horton@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblyman Bill Maze
(916) 319-2034
Assemblymember.maze@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblyman Curren D. Price., Jr.
(916) 319-2051
Assemblymember.Price@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblyman Alberto Torrico
(916) 319-2020
Assemblymember.torrico@assembly.ca.gov
 

For more information, contact AKC's Canine Legislation Department at (919) 816-3720, or e-mail doglaw@akc.org.

The Canine Legislation Department will continue to monitor developments in California, and will issue Legislative Alerts as they warrant.