Search Menu


– “AKC Breeder of the Year” to be Announced at
AKC/Eukanuba National Championship –

The American Kennel Club® announced today the seven group recipients of the 2010 AKC® Breeder of the Year Award.  The award honors breeders who have dedicated their lives to improving the health, temperament and quality of purebred dogs.

“The AKC Breeder of the Year Award recognizes the dedication and commitment to excellence of our sport’s top breeders,” said Ron Menaker, AKC/Eukanuba National Championship Show Chairman. “We are proud to honor these seven finalists and recognize them for their years of hard work in producing beautiful and healthy purebred dogs.”

A breeder is chosen from each of the seven groups: Sporting, Hound, Working, Terrier, Toy, Non-Sporting and Herding. The individual group recipients will receive a medallion in recognition of their achievements on Sunday, December 5, 2010 at the AKC/Eukanuba National Championship. At the end of the presentation the 2010 AKC Breeder of the Year will be announced. Additionally, a canine portraitist will be commissioned to commemorate a prominent dog from the recipient's kennel, and their name will be inscribed on a perpetual trophy and plaque on permanent display at the AKC headquarters in New York City.

The group winners are:

  • Sporting: Gregory Siner – Clifton, NJ, Pooles Ide Irish Water Spaniels

  • Hound: Dionne (Debbie) Butt – Toms Brook, VA, Sporting Field Whippets

  • Working: Michelle Santana – Sunny Valley, OR, Foxfire Doberman Pinschers

  • Terrier: Margery Good – Cochransville, PA, Goodspice Sealyham Terriers

  • Toy: Carol Harris – Reddick, FL, Bo-Bett Italian Greyhounds

  • Non-Sporting: Joanne Reed – Santa Rosa, CA, Windrift Keeshonden

  • Herding: Leslie Frank – Kensington, NH, Propwash Australian Shepherds