Search Menu


– “AKC Breeder of the Year” to be Announced at AKC/Eukanuba National Championship –

The American Kennel Club® announced today the seven group recipients of the 2008 AKC® Breeder of the Year Award.  The award honors breeders who have dedicated their lives to improving the health, temperament and quality of purebred dogs.

“It is a thrill to honor these individuals whose long-standing breeding programs have produced many successes not only for their kennel, but for their breed as a whole,” said Ron Menaker, AKC's Chairman of the Board. “They deserve recognition for the time and effort they have put into breeding and exhibiting quality dogs and improving upon the foundation of their breeds.”

A breeder is chosen from each of the seven groups: Sporting, Hound, Working, Terrier, Toy, Non-Sporting and Herding. The individual group recipients will receive a medallion in recognition of their achievements on Sunday, December 14, 2008 at the AKC/Eukanuba National Championship. At the end of the presentation the 2008 AKC Breeder of the Year will be announced. Additionally, a canine portraitist will be commissioned to commemorate a prominent dog from the recipient's kennel, and their name will be inscribed on a perpetual trophy and plaque on permanent display at the AKC headquarters in New York City.

The group winners are:

  • Sporting: Joan Savage – Banks, OR, Stagedoor English Setters

  • Hound: Kathy & Julie Jones – Reseda, CA, Jasiri – Sukari Basenjis

  • Working: Lilian Ostermiller – Westtown, NY, De-Li Bernese Mountain Dogs

  • Terrier: Miriam Stamm – Kalamazoo, MI, Anstamm Scottish Terriers

  • Toy: Luke & Diane Ehricht – Monclova, OH, Hallmark Jolei Shih Tzus

  • Non-Sporting: Eleanor & Bob Candland- Lake Elsinore,CA, El-Bo Boston Terriers

  • Herding: James & Sheree Moses – Carrollton, GA, Kaleef German Shepherd Dogs