Search Menu

The American Kennel Club® (AKC), the leading advocate for dogs, is delighted to acknowledge those individuals that have excelled at breeding dogs that have proven to be outstanding in AKC sports. The commitment to preserve, protect, and improve a breed represents the very essence of the AKC.

The AKC Breeder of the Year by Sport Award is given to those who have dedicated themselves to improving the health, temperament and performance of dogs in a given sport.

The 2017 Breeder of the Year by Sport award recipients are:

Pointing Breed Field Events Tom and Judy Robin Brittanys
Retriever Field Events Frank and Rita Jones Labrador Retrievers
Spaniel Field Events Thomas Ness English Cockers
Hound Field Events Mike Rowe Beagles
Herding Steve Burdine Border Collies
Lure Coursing Maurice and Deborah Bahm Whippets
Earthdog Jean Dieden Dachshunds
Coonhounds Josh Nunn Am. English Coonhounds
Agility Gayle Watkins Golden Retrievers
Obedience Bridget Carlsen Golden Retrievers
Rally Pauline Karalia Rottweilers
Tracking Ann Callahan Rottweilers

“Knowledgeable breeders are critical to the continued enjoyment of canine sports.  These breeders have shown a long-term dedication to preserving their breeds and breeding sound dogs with good temperaments,” said Doug Ljungren, Vice President for Sports and Events, “their success represent the highest level of commitment to their breeds and sports.”  Each recipient received a Breeder of the Year rosette mounted in a shadow box. 

The American Kennel Club salutes these individuals for their dedication and success in breeding purpose-bred dogs.