Search Menu

The American Kennel Club (AKC®), a not-for-profit organization, the world’s largest purebred dog registry and leading advocate for dogs, continues its commitment to students pursuing veterinary studies with the announcement of the 2023-2024 AKC Veterinary Outreach Scholarship recipients.

These scholarships aim to support those with backgrounds in AKC events and programs seeking to promote animal health and medicine. A total of $73,000 in scholarship money was awarded, with awards ranging from $2,000-$10,000.

“These students have not only shown their dedication to bettering the lives of animals through their study of animal health and medicine, but they’ve also balanced it with AKC events and more, rising above the challenge,” said Mari-Beth O’Neill, Vice President of Sport Services. “We’re thrilled to present them with this scholarship, and excited to see the difference they make in the world of veterinary medicine.”

Recipients of the AKC Veterinary Outreach Scholarship are as follows:

Amber Framstad (Washington State University)

Amelia Foreman (Purdue University)

Armen Brus (Michigan State University)

Breanna Uyeno (Iowa State University)

Brooke Dominello (Mississippi State University)

Claire Merriman (University of Missouri)

Diana Chan (Tufts University)

Emma Root (Cornell University)

Hanna Westermier (Kansas State University).

Jamie Dean (University of Florida)

Jamie Wells (Tufts University)

Jessica Reed (UC Davis)

Katie Sandford (Auburn University)

Marisa Melo (Texas A&M University)

Maya Vulcan (Cornell University)

Melissa McBride (North Carolina State University)

Sam Johnson (VA-MD Regional College)

Sara Yonker (Michigan State University)

To learn more about AKC’s commitment to education, please visit