Search Menu

The AKC Humane Fund, Inc. is pleased to announce the 2020 recipients of the Sir John D. Spurling Scholarship, celebrating the human-canine bond. Each year, the AKC Humane Fund awards five full-time students enrolled in courses of study that contribute to the well-being of dogs and the advancement of responsible pet ownership.

The scholarship is named in honor of Sir John D. Spurling, Chairman of the Board of PetPartners, Inc. which provides comprehensive and affordable pet health insurance to dog and cat owners throughout the United States.

“Responsible pet ownership is a hallmark of the AKC Humane Fund, and these five outstanding students are the future generation of responsible pet owners and pet care professionals,” said Doug Ljungren, President of the AKC Humane Fund. “Each of the recipients has demonstrated excellence in their academic records and is dedicated to the well-being of dogs. We are pleased to award them with this scholarship.”

The AKC Humane Fund awards $2,000 to each of the five scholarship recipients, payable as tuition assistance to accredited institutions in which each student is enrolled in courses of study focusing on the care of pets.

The 2020 recipients are:
– Safari Richardson – NC State University College of Veterinary Medicine
– Ryan J. Farrell – Auburn University
– Aliyah Diamond – Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
– Caitlyn Rize – University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine
– Jennifer Hansen – Colby Community College

For more about other AKC Humane Fund grants, visit