Search Menu


— Scholarships Awarded In Partnership with Royal Canin, AKC Companion Animal Recovery and AKC Canine Health Foundation —

The American Kennel Club® (AKC®) today announced it has awarded scholarships to 24 students from 18 American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) accredited schools of veterinary medicine.

These scholarships include the Chairman's Award and the President's Award, both sponsored by Royal Canin and in the amount of $15,000 each; the Dr. Asa Mays Award, in the amount of $15,000; twenty AKC Companion Animal Recovery scholarships of $5,000 each and the AKC Canine Health Foundation's Robert L. Kelly Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $5,000.

“Royal Canin is proud to join the American Kennel Club's Veterinary Outreach program in honoring the most outstanding veterinary students in the country,” said Dr. Denise Elliott, Director of Scientific Affairs for Royal Canin.  “We are devoted to the health and well-being of dogs, so we throw our whole-hearted support behind students who are dedicating their lives to veterinary medicine.”

“We are thrilled to be able to again offer these scholarships for the upcoming school year, and thank AKC Companion Animal Recovery and Royal Canin for their generous support,” said Debra Bonnefond, Director of Veterinary Outreach. “For the third year, we are offering an award in honor of Dr. Asa Mays, who was a prestigious veterinarian, lifetime dog fancier and AKC Director, and whose dedication to veterinary medicine should be emulated.”

“AKC Companion Animal Recovery is pleased to work with the AKC Veterinary Outreach program once again to award scholarships to some of the top veterinary students across the nation,” said Tom Sharp, Vice President and CEO of AKC CAR. “We are dedicated to reuniting lost pets with their owners, and veterinarians, who microchip those pets, play an integral part in responsible pet ownership. We wish these students the best of luck.”

“The AKC Canine Health Foundation is excited to award the second annual Robert L. Kelly Memorial Scholarship to a most deserving student,” said Erika Werne, Director of Education, Communications & Club Relations. “Named after our longtime director and founder Robert L. Kelly, this scholarship is designed to support students pursuing dual degrees in veterinary medicine and research. Much of the research performed today has a direct effect on the practice of veterinary medicine, so we are happy to encourage anyone working in both fields.”

Each accredited U.S. veterinary school is asked to nominate four scholarship candidates.  From these students, the recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement, activities with purebred dogs or related research, and need.

The AKC Scholarship Program for Veterinary Medicine has existed for 17 years, and the awards are given annually.


The 2008 Veterinary Scholarship Recipients are:

Dr. Asa Mays Award ($15,000.00):

Gregory Kuhlman 2009 – University of Wisconsin

Chairman's Award ($15,000.00) – Sponsored by Royal Canin:

Amanda Corbisiero 2010 – University of IL Champaign/Urbana

President's Award ($15,000.00) – Sponsored by Royal Canin:

Cynthia Willson 2011 – North Carolina State University

Robert L. Kelly Memorial Scholarship ($5,000.00) – Sponsored by  AKC Canine Health Foundation:
Moira Kellher 2010 – University of Pennsylvania

AKC/CAR Award ($5,000.00) – Sponsored by AKC Companion Animal Recovery

  • Elizabeth DeHaye 2009- Auburn University

  • Eva Oxford 2012- Cornell University

  • Allison Darby 2009- Iowa State University

  • Christopher Potanas 2010- Kansas State University

  • Jennifer Bruno 2010- Louisiana State University

  • Megan Duffy 2011- Michigan State University

  • Connie Lawless 2011- The Ohio State University

  • Naoka Sogame 2009- Tufts University

  • Kelly Churchill 2009- University of California/ Davis

  • Jenny Glei 2010- University of Florida

  • Hiroyuki Iwamoto 2009- University of Georgia

  • Ann Johnson 2009- University of IL Champaign/Urbana

  • Benjamin Perry 2010- University of IL Champaign/Urbana

  • Sara Kutney-Krykewycz 2011- University of Pennsylvania

  • Christine Marie Mullin 2010- University of Pennsylvania

  • Julia Shih 2010- University of Pennsylvania

  • Rebecca Costello 2010- University of Tennessee

  • Christine Ramierez 2010- Washington State University

  • Michael Gerber 2010- Western University

  • Darlene Sanchez 2009- Western University