Search Menu

— Seventeen Vet Tech Students Honored —

The American Kennel Club® (AKC®) and Bayer’s K9 Advantix®, along with the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America (NAVTA), are pleased to announce the recipients of the AKC/Bayer’s K9 Advantix® Veterinary Technician Scholarships.

Two scholarships in the amount of $2,500 and 15 scholarships in the amount of $1,000 were awarded to students from 14 American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) accredited schools of veterinary technology.

The AKC has awarded annual scholarships to veterinary students since 1991, and in 2005 expanded the program to include veterinary technicians.

“Bayer is dedicated to the development of products that improve the health of animals, so we’re happy to support a scholarship program equally dedicated to assisting the people that work so hard to do the same,” said Raquel Rodriguez, K9 Advantix Brand Manager.  “Congratulations to the students who will keep our dogs happy and healthy in the future.”

“Through our Veterinary Outreach program, the AKC is able to establish strong relationships within the veterinary community,” said Debra Bonnefond, Director of the AKC Veterinary Outreach Program. “The future technicians we’re honoring will play pivotal roles in vet offices, so we are pleased to support their development and educational advancement.”

To be eligible, candidates must be current, full-time students at an AVMA-accredited Veterinary Technician school and be a NAVTA student member or a member of a NAVTA Student Chapter (SCNAVTA). Scholarship recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement, activities in the small animal, exotics, and research areas, and activities in NAVTA and SCNAVTA.

Additional information about the scholarships can be found on the AKC website at

AKC/Bayer K9 Advantix® Veterinary Technician Scholarships 2010-2011

$2,500 Award
Anna Schurter – Colby Community College in Colby, Kansas

Tonya Tenters – Central Carolina Community College in Sanford, North Carolina

$1,000 Award
Jessica Albright – International Business College in Fort Wayne, Indiana

Ann Babst – Tulsa Community College in Tulsa, Oklahoma

Meghan Begins – Mount Ida College in Newton, Massachusetts

Michelle Boiling – Truckee Meadows Community College in Reno, Nevada

Ellen Boss – Mount Ida College in Newton, Massachusetts

Rachel Daniell – Palo Alto College in San Antonio, Texas

Kelly Greenawalt – Blue Ridge Community College in Weyers Cave, Virginia

Sky Linsey – Colby Community College in Colby, Kansas

Dana May – Portland Community College in Portland, Oregon

Jodi Mermis – Colby Community College in Colby, Kansas

Brittany Peters – Morehead State University    in Morehead, Kentucky

Lisa Rorabaugh – Harcum College in Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania

Kelsey Shurvinton – Pierce College in Lakewood, Washington

Janet Treese – Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee

Kelli Wigfield – Carrington College CA – Pleasant Hill in Pleasant Hill, California