Search Menu


–New Program for Member Clubs Offers AKC Medallion–


New York, NY The American Kennel Club® is pleased to announce that the first recipients of the AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award are now listed in the “Awards and Honors” section of the AKC web site.

In the AKC’s ongoing effort to recognize and celebrate its volunteer club members, The AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award program was recently established to provide each member club with an AKC Medallion to award to one of its own on a yearly basis.

This award offers those individuals who have made a difference in the sport of purebred dogs, embodied the AKC Code of Sportsmanship, and have been an active and valued member of an AKC member club. Medallions are awarded solely at the club’s discretion.

The first member clubs to list honorees are:

  • Central Beagle Club – William Hank
  • Del Valle Dog Club of Livermore – Roy Stenmark
  • Rockland County Kennel Club – Gerri Ambrosio
  • Tualatin Kennel Club – Margaret L. Braun


“So many heroes of our sport deserve recognition,” said AKC President and CEO Dennis Sprung. “We are very pleased to put the honorees’ name and AKC Member Club on our web site in honor of their accomplishments.”

For more information about the AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Program or to notify the AKC about your club’s recipient to be listed on the web site, please contact Director of Project Administration Ron Rella at or 212-696-8303.