Search Menu

Texas House Bill 604 seeks to require animal shelters and releasing agencies, including animal rescue organizations, to scan an animal for a microchip as soon as practicable after the animal is placed in their custody.  The American Kennel Club supports this measure and believes it will help return lost or at-large animals efficiently to their owners.

Texas dog owners are encouraged to contact the members of the House County Affairs Committee to urge support for this bill, which is scheduled to consider the bill at 10:30AM on Thursday, March 25, in Room E2.014 of the State Capitol in Austin.    

AKC expressed support for similar legislation in 2019.

Texas residents who wish to express support HB 604 without testifying in person may do so electronically may do so by visiting https://comments.house.texas.gov/home?c=c210.  For those who wish to testify in person, registration information is available at https://mytxlegis.capitol.texas.gov/HWRSPublic/About.aspx.

Individual committee members may be reached as follows:

Rep. Garnet Coleman, Chair (Dist. 147 – Houston)
512-463-0524
garnet.coleman@house.texas.gov

Rep. Lynn Stucky, Vick Chair (Dist. 64 – Denton)
512-463-0582
Lynn.Stucky@house.texas.gov

Rep. Charles “Doc” Anderson (Dist. 56 – Waco)
512-463-0135
charles.anderson@house.texas.gov

Rep. Jeff Cason (Dist. 92 – Bedford)
512-463-0522
jeff.cason@house.texas.gov

Rep. Oscar Longoria (Dist. 35 – Mission)
512-463-0645
Oscar.Longoria@house.texas.gov

Rep. Ray Lopez (Dist. 125 – San Antonio)
(512) 463-0669
ray.lopez@house.texas.gov

Rep. David Spiller (Dist. 68 – Jacksboro)
512-463-0526
david.spiller@house.texas.gov

Rep. Phil Stephenson (Dist. 85 – Wharton)
(512) 463-0604
Phil.Stephenson@house.texas.gov

Rep. John Turner (Dist. 114 – Dallas)
512-463-0576
john.turner@house.texas.gov

Please also contact bill sponsor Rep. Candy Noble (Dist. 89 – Lucas) to share your support of HB 604:
(512) 463-0186
candy.noble@house.texas.gov

AKC Government Relations (AKC GR) will continue to provide updates on HB 604 and other pending Texas legislation.

https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you