Search Menu

The New York Senate Environmental Conservation Committee is scheduled to consider Senate Bill 7542 on Tuesday, March 3.  It seeks to prohibit hunting contests where the sole objective is taking the largest number of game or wild birds.  It further clarifies that any prohibition will not apply to field trials, dog training areas, or canine performance events.  The AKC supports this important clarification that protects performance events.

Legislative History:

The predecessor to S.7542 was introduced in 2019 as Assembly Bill 722.  As introduced, that bill would have prohibited any contest, competition, or tournament where the objective is taking or hunting wildlife for prizes or entertainment, and would have negatively impacted field trials and other American Kennel Club (AKC)-sanctioned events.  However, thanks to the efforts of all who called and emailed the New York Assembly in 2019, Senate Bill 7542 mirrors the amendments made to Assembly Bill 722 last year and protects field trials and similar canine performance events.

What You Can Do:

Those who wish may contact the members of the Senate Environmental Conservation Committee regarding Senate Bill 7542.  Let them know that you appreciate and support the clarification protecting field trials, training, and canine performance events.  If you are a constituent, or participate in performance events in their district, be sure to mention that when contacting them:

Todd Kaminsky, Chair (Rockville Centre)
District Office: 516-766-8383
Albany Office: 518-455-3401
Email: kaminsky@nysenate.gov

Phil Boyle (Bay Shore)
District Office: (631) 665-2311
Albany Office: (518) 455-3411
Email: pboyle@nysenate.gov

Pete Harckham (Carmel)
District Office: (845) 225-3025
Albany Office: (518) 455-2340
Email: harckham@nysenate.gov

Brian Kavanagh (Manhattan/Brooklyn)
Manhattan District Office: 212-298-5565
Brooklyn District Office: 718-875-1517
Albany Office: 518-455-2625
Email: kavanagh@nysenate.gov

Kenneth P. LaValle (Mount Sinai)
District Office: (631) 473-1461
Albany Office: (518) 455-3121
Email: lavalle@nysenate.gov

Betty Little (Glens Falls)
District Office: (518) 743-0968
Albany Office: (518) 455-2811
Email: little@nysenate.gov

Rachel May (Syracuse)
District Office: 315-478-8745
Albany Office: 518-455-2838
Email: may@nysenate.gov

Jen Metzger (Middletown)
District Office: (845) 344-3311
Albany Office: (518) 455-2400
Email: metzger@nysenate.gov

Thomas F. O’Mara (Elmira)
District Office: 607-735-9671
Albany Office: 518-455-2091
Email: omara@nysenate.gov

Julia Salazar (Brooklyn)
District Office: 917-370-4440
Albany Office: 518-455-2177
Email: salazar@nysenate.gov

Jose M. Serrano (Manhattan)
District Office: (212)-828-5829
Albany Office: (518) 455-2795
Email: serrano@nysenate.gov

AKC Government Relations will continue to provide updates on this and other New York legislation.  For questions, contact AKC GR at doglaw@akc.org.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you