Search Menu

March 29, 2019

The Texas House Public Health Committee is scheduled to hold a public hearing on Wednesday, April 3, on a bill that would allow dogs in outdoor eating establishments, with permission from the business owner.

The AKC supports HB 1801, as it allows responsible dog owners more opportunity to enjoy outdoor activities and socialization with their well-behaved pets while allowing individual businesses to decide whether they want to allow dogs.

AKC has already expressed support of the Senate companion, SB 476.

Texas residents and those who participate in events in Texas are encouraged to contact the House Public Health Committee prior to the hearing on Wednesday, April 3 at 10:30 AM, and ask the members to support HB 1801.  Please use the contact information below.  If you are a constituent, be sure to mention that when contacting their office:

State Representative Senfronia Thompson, Chair
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0720
District Phone: (713) 633-3390
Senfronia.Thompson@house.texas.gov

State Representative John Wray, Vice Chair
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0516
District Phone: (972) 938-9392
john.wray@house.texas.gov

State Representative Steve Allison
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0686
District Phone: (210) 828-4411
steve.allison@house.texas.gov

State Representative Garnet Coleman
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0524
District Phone: (713) 520-5355
garnet.coleman@house.texas.gov

State Representative James B. Frank
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0534
District Phone: (940) 767-1700
James.Frank@house.texas.gov

State Representative R.D. “Bobby” Guerra
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0578
District Phone: (956) 292-0407
bobby.guerra@house.texas.gov

State Representative Eddie Lucio III
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0606
District Phone: (956) 542-2800
eddie.lucio_iii@house.texas.gov

State Representative Evelina “Lina” Ortega
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0638
District Phone: (915) 351-4031
lina.ortega@house.texas.gov

State Representative Four Price
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0470
District Phone: (806) 374-8787
four.price@house.texas.gov

State Representative J.D. Sheffield
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0628
District Phone: (254) 918-5729
j.d.sheffield@house.texas.gov

State Representative Bill Zedler
Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0374
District Phone: (817) 483-1885
Bill.Zedler@house.texas.gov

For more information on this or other Texas legislation impacting dogs, contact AKC Government Relations at doglaw@akc.org.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you