Search Menu

In an effort to recognize and honor police dogs and other police animals killed in the line of duty, Texas House Bill 1677 seeks to direct the State Preservation Board to establish a Texas Police Service Animals Memorial Monument on the grounds of the Texas Capitol.  The American Kennel Club (AKC) strongly supports HB 1677, and encourages Texas residents to do the same.

AKC values the contribution that all working and detection dogs make to national security and the extraordinary role that these dogs play in protecting the peace and security of individuals and communities.  We honor the breeders, trainers, and handlers of these dogs, and support efforts ensuring that specialized care is provided to protect the wellbeing of police dogs.

HB 1677 is scheduled to be considered by the Texas House Culture, Recreation, and Tourism Committee on Monday, March 15, at 2PM.

How You Can Participate

Texas residents are encouraged to contact the committee, and bill sponsor Representative Justin Holland, to express support of HB 1677.

Those who wish to electronically submit comments without testifying in person can do so until the hearing is adjourned by visiting https://comments.house.texas.gov/home?c=c430.

Comments to individual committee members may be directed to:

Representative Ken King, Chair (Dist. 88 – Canadian)
(512) 463-0736
ken.king@house.texas.gov

Representative Barbara Gervin-Hawkins, Vice Chair (Dist. 120 – San Antonio)
(512) 463-0708
barbara.gervin-hawkins@house.texas.gov

Representative DeWayne Burns (Dist. 58 – Cleburne)
512-463-0538
Dewayne.Burns@house.texas.gov

Representative Travis Clardy (Dist. 11 – Nacogdoches)
512-463-0592
Travis.Clardy@house.texas.gov

Representative John Frullo (Dist. 84 – Lubbock)
512-463-0676
john.frullo@house.texas.gov

Representative Celia Israel (Dist. 50 – Austin)
512-463-0821
celia.israel@house.texas.gov

Representative Matt Krause (Dist. 93 – Fort Worth)
(512) 463-0562
Matt.Krause@house.texas.gov

Representative Armando “Mando” Martinez (Dist. 39 – Weslaco)
512-463-0530
mando.martinez@house.texas.gov

Representative Christina Morales (Dist. 145 – Houston)
(512) 463-0732
Click here for form to email Rep. Morales.

Comments to bill sponsor Representative Justin Holland may be directed to:

Representative Justin Holland (Dist. 33 – Rockwall)
512-463-0484
justin.holland@house.texas.gov

A live video broadcast of this hearing will be available here: https://house.texas.gov/video-audio/.

AKC Government Relations will provide updates on this legislation and other Texas legislation as developments warrant.  For more information, email doglaw@akc.org.

https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you