Search Menu

Thursday, January 14, 2016

On Tuesday, January 19, a committee of Stamford, Connecticut’s Board of Representatives will accept public comment on proposed changes to Chapter 111 of the City’s Code of Ordinances, which currently deals with “Dogs and Other Animals.”  While several changes have already been made at the behest of resident responsible dog owners, the proposal still seeks to create breeder permits.  On principle, the American Kennel Club opposes breeder permits.  AKC strongly encourages all dog owners in Stamford to attend Monday’s meeting of the Legislative and Rules Committee (details below) or to contact the committee members and express your concerns. 

Sec. 111-12 of the proposal, regarding the breeding of dogs, creates breeding permits.  Under the proposal, residents may breed a dog once without a permit.  However, residents wishing to breed a dog a second time or subsequent times must obtain a breeding permit from the city.  Permits would cost $100 per year.  Breeders who have obtained a state kennel license administered by the city would not be required to obtain breeding permits.  Those obtaining breeder permits would be subject to facilities inspections by the city. 

The American Kennel Club’s Board-approved Canine Legislation Position Statement on Breeding Regulations and Restrictions is clear: 

“The AKC opposes the concept of breeding permits, breeding bans or mandatory spay/neuter of purebred dogs… The AKC supports reasonable and enforceable laws that protect the welfare and health of dogs and do not restrict the rights of breeders and owners who meet their responsibilities.” 

The AKC respectfully requests that the provisions creating breeding permits for Stamford residents be removed from the proposal.  New statutory permits, requirements and expensive fees will only burden responsible breeders and owners who already comply with laws and regulations pertaining to the keeping of their dogs.  Creating additional requirements and fees are not likely to incentivize irresponsible breeders, or those currently not complying with the law, to do so. 

Click here to view AKC’s previous alert regarding Stamford.  

WHAT YOU CAN DO:
Stamford residents are strongly encouraged to attend Tuesday’s meeting of the Legislative and Rules Committee of the Board of Representatives and express their concerns with the proposal.  The meeting is scheduled to begin at 7PM in the Legislative Chambers, 4th Floor, Stamford Government Center, 888 Washington Blvd., Stamford, CT 06901. 

Stamford residents are also strongly encouraged to contact the members of the Legislative and Rules committee and respectfully urge them to remove the breeding permit requirement. 

City Representative Eileen Heaphy, Committee Chair — eheaphy@stamfordCT.gov

City Representative Elize Coleman, Committee Vice Chair — ecoleman@stamfordCT.gov

City Representative Harry Day — hday@stamfordCT.gov

City Representative Elaine Mitchell — emitchell@stamfordCT.gov

City Representative Susan Nabel — snabel@stamfordCT.gov

City Representative Gail Okun — gokun@stamfordCT.gov

City Representative Kieran Ryan — kryan@stamfordCT.gov

City Representative Keith Silver — ksilver@stamfordCT.gov

City Representative John R. Zelinsky, Jr. — jzelinsky@stamfordCT.gov  

For more information, contact AKC’s Government Relations (AKC GR) Department at (919) 816-3720, or e-mail doglaw@akc.org.  AKC GR will provide additional updates as information becomes available.  

On Tuesday, January 19, a committee of Stamford, Connecticut’s Board of Representatives will accept public comment on proposed changes to Chapter 111 of the City’s Code of Ordinances, which currently deals with “Dogs and Other Animals.”

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you