Search Menu

South Dakota Senate Bill 136 seeks to allow therapy dogs to accompany vulnerable witnesses when testifying in South Dakota courts. The bill has passed in the Senate and will be considered by the House Judiciary Committee on Wednesday, March 4, 2020 at 10:00 AM.

The bill requires that before the introduction of a certified therapeutic dog into the courtroom, the party desiring to utilize the certified therapeutic dog shall, outside the presence of the jury, file a motion containing the following information:

1. The credentials of the certified therapeutic dog;
2. The credentials of the certified handler;
3. That the certified therapeutic dog is adequately insured;
4. That a basic relationship has been established between the child witness, or the witness having a developmental disability, and the certified therapeutic dog in anticipation of testimony;
5. That the certified therapeutic dog is capable of sitting quietly for extended periods of time; and
6. That the presence of the certified therapeutic dog may reduce anxiety experienced by the child witness or the witness having a developmental disability while testifying in the criminal trial or hearing.

Those who support SB 136 are encouraged to contact the members of the South Dakota House Judiciary Committee:

Representative Jon Hansen, Committee Chairman

EMAIL:  Jon.Hansen@sdlegislature.gov

PHONE:  (605) 261-3851

Representative Timothy Johns, Vice Chairman

EMAIL:  Timothy.Johns@sdlegislature.gov

PHONE:  (605) 773-3851

Representative Douglas Barthel
EMAIL:  Doug.Barthel@sdlegislature.gov

PHONE:  (803) 773-3851

Representative Scyller Borglum
EMAIL:  Scyller.Borglum@sdlegislature.gov

PHONE:  (605) 773-3851

Representative Ryan Cwach
EMAIL:  Ryan.Cwach@sdlegislature.gov

PHONE:  (605) 773-3851

Representative Michael Diedrich
EMAIL:  Mike.Diedrich@sdlegislature.gov

PHONE:  (605) 773-3851

Representative Dayle Hammock
EMAIL: Dayle.Hammock@sdlegislature.gov

PHONE:  (605) 773-3851

Representative Isaac Latterell
EMAIL:  Isaac.Latterell@sdlegislature.gov

PHONE:  (605) 773-3851

Representative Tom Pischke
EMAIL:  Tom.Pischke@sdlegislature.gov

PHONE:  (605) 773-3851

Representative Peri Pourier
EMAIL:  Peri.Pourier@sdlegislature.gov

PHONE:  (605) 773-3851

Representative Nancy Rasmussen
EMAIL:  Nancy.Rasmussen@sdlegislature.gov

PHONE:  (605) 773-3851

Representative Rebecca Reimer
EMAIL:  Rebecca.Reimer@sdlegislature.gov

PHONE:  (605) 773-3851

Representative Tamara St. John
EMAIL:  Tamara.StJohn@sdlegislature.gov

PHONE:  (605) 773-3851

To find your South Dakota State Representative, click here and enter your address in the box titled Find Your Legislator in the top right of the page.

RESOURCES:
For a copy of the full legislation, please click here.

For tips on how to effectively communicate with legislators, please click here.

For more information, contact AKC’s Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org

 

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you